The Diesel Garage banner

6.0 fuel mileage

33K views 14 replies 4 participants last post by  jbsmith55 
#1 ·
Hi guys! Im new at the diesel game. I just bought a ford F250 6.0 powerstroke diesel 4x4 2004. I have been told that I need to install a egr bypass kit to ensure the engine runs properly. also I was told to get added mpg I should install a air intake and a triple dog power chip. does this sound right to you professionals? Is there anything else I should add that will increase fuel mileage? thanks for your in help!

#2 ·
Ok if you are looking to get better fuel millage your best bet is to get a SCT tuner with some custom tunes innovative diesel makes a good ECON tune that will give you abot 2-4 MPG the egr delete will help a little but nothing major as far as MPG the air intake on our truck is really good and unless you are going over 500HP you really do not need one. I would look into getting a 4" turbo back exhaust which will help out to and lower you EGT's.

Now if you want to do some preventive stuff to your truck the EGR delete is a great start if you do do the EGR delete you might as well replace the oil cooler if your truck has any millage on it you are right there when you do the EGR delete. I would defently do a coolant filter no matter what expecialy if you are running the stock Ford Gold coolant the gold coolant is a sillicate coolant that breaks down due to heat and starts to plug up the oil cooler casting sand is also a problem causing to plug up the oil cooler the coolant filter will help the life of a oil cooler by at least 90%. But if you want to go the extra step you could and what most people do is flush all the Ford Glold coolant out and install a good Cat-1 ELC that is waht international puts in there motors which is who our motors are made by.

#4 ·