The Diesel Garage banner

3406B high idle adjustment ????

23K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  Log truck driver 
#1 ·
hi all first post :) i recently acquired a rolled 1988 international 9370 with a 3406B (1100 miles on inframe), 7 speed eaton, 3:90 rears, 11r22.5 tires

well after days of work changing the cabs over and putting some new rubber on the front i took her out for a test drive and when the govenor maxed out at 1700 rpm i was only doing about 57 mph

i figured if i could get another 300 rpm i might get a top speed of 67 or so?

how hard is it to adjust the high idle on a 3406B?

i got some hay to haul next week about 350miles north and the 57mph would drive me nuts on the interstate :)

any help would be greatly appreciated

#3 ·
Welcome!
Looks like you got the 'Binder rollin good...except the 57mph part. I'm not experienced in the 3406's enuf to give pointers, except the fuel rate adjustment is in my signature. I think Ynot said these can go to 2300rpm. Hopefully he'll see this.

#4 ·
Yep, 2300's real safe. High idle is under the oval shaped cover just to the inside of the shutoff solenoid. One 1/4" bolt holds it on. 1/2" jam nut on a flathead screw. Turn it out 6 turns and check the high idle on a good tach. Cat never made a 1700 engine, so I wonder if you have something wrong (like a bad tach and 4.11 gears or something). Welcome aboard and good luck bud!!...T

#5 ·
well, this is embarising, there was a bolt threaded up threw the floor under the pedal that the previous owner installed for a throttle stop :oops: now she'll do about 75mph at 2200rpm

at leaste it was an easy fix :)

you got some neat ideas ther nevrenufhp, how much harder is it on the ole 3406 crankin her up like that?

#6 ·
You'd need to monitor exhaust temps to know when too much is too much. It may damper your fuel economy if you drive it hard too. The 3406 is extremely durable.