weak air brakes - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by gon2sea, this thread has received 19 replies and been viewed 2605 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-26-2008, 01:14 PM Thread Starter

weak air brakes

1955 chevy cab on 1996 freightliner FL70 chassi, my air brakes dont "feel" right, im new at the whole air brake thing...! i have very little mid range brakes, the brakes work for light braking or emergency hard stops and almost lock up. mostly rear brakes, very little front. did i missconnect the hoses, also the computer for ABS is no longer used but was told the ABS wheel controllers are in the normally open position so it doesnt affect anything having them still inline. any diagrams out there for the freightliner air brake foot pedal controller...the truck was a tractor orriginally, not a box truck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	chevy yosemite.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	14204  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-26-2008, 06:39 PM
You wreck it, I'll fix it

Automatic slack adjusters? Get under there and see where the adjustment is at. Make sure the fronts work at all.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-26-2008, 09:05 PM

Garage
I'd check the slacks as well. I can always tell when mine need adjusting. The truck won't stop as good. I run them up tight, then back off 1/3 of one turn. A 1/4 is a bit tight and 1/2 turn is sometimes to much. Spring brakes will sometimes let a tractor roll then, 1/2 turn back.

If the shoe linings are glazed from excessive heat, cracking and separating from the plate is something else to look at.

"Some people are educated beyond their intelligence."

'93 W350 CC, LE, 5spd, HTT modded H1C, 4" DE

Sold- '99 3500 Q/C, SO CTD, 4x4, 5spd.

Traded off- '97 3500 C/C, 4x4, CTD

'92 W250, LE, CC, CTD w/ tweaked pump (SOLD)

"Obama = Hoax and Chains"

If Obama is the answer, it must have been a stupid question.