weak air brakes [Archive] - TheDieselGarage.com

: weak air brakes

gon2sea
01-26-2008, 02:14 PM
1955 chevy cab on 1996 freightliner FL70 chassi, my air brakes dont "feel" right, im new at the whole air brake thing...! i have very little mid range brakes, the brakes work for light braking or emergency hard stops and almost lock up. mostly rear brakes, very little front. did i missconnect the hoses, also the computer for ABS is no longer used but was told the ABS wheel controllers are in the normally open position so it doesnt affect anything having them still inline. any diagrams out there for the freightliner air brake foot pedal controller...the truck was a tractor orriginally, not a box truck.

The Ayatollah
01-26-2008, 07:39 PM
Automatic slack adjusters? Get under there and see where the adjustment is at. Make sure the fronts work at all.

bmoeller
01-26-2008, 10:05 PM
I'd check the slacks as well. I can always tell when mine need adjusting. The truck won't stop as good. I run them up tight, then back off 1/3 of one turn. A 1/4 is a bit tight and 1/2 turn is sometimes to much. Spring brakes will sometimes let a tractor roll then, 1/2 turn back.

If the shoe linings are glazed from excessive heat, cracking and separating from the plate is something else to look at.

gon2sea
01-27-2008, 03:08 PM
hi, i was hoping to find a web site or someone with knowlegde of the brake control hose hookup...since i switched cabs and did major changes i simply wanted to start from the beginning in my diagnostic, making sure my pressure hoses are connected to the right outlet on my foot pedal controller...i removed some hoses as they we going to the trailor hookup, the cab manual trailor override, there was some sort of " check" valve on one of the controller's outlet that is no longer there...