LB7 Cold Start Problems. HELP PLEASE [Archive] - TheDieselGarage.com

: LB7 Cold Start Problems. HELP PLEASE

2500HD03
10-13-2009, 02:17 AM
So i'm new to the duramax's I have had cummins till this. I got my new pickup and just after buying it found that i had bad injectors took it to the dealership to get them done under warranty. Got pickup back and truck ran great and everything. I let it sit over the weekend though and started it up truck ran for about 2 sec. and then died. Crank and no start. Opened the hood and pumped the fuel primer a few times and it fires right up. Well now that it is getting colder it does this about every morning. I read a post that the duramax does not use a lift pump? is this correct, i'm a diesel mechanic and the only engines i've ever seen that do not use a lift pump is one with the tank above the engine, AND A SMALL ENGINE aplication at that. I would think that the cp3 pump would need something helping feed it. Is there one in the tank. Also if there is no lift pump how come there is aftermarket lift pump options for the duramax. Also hooked up a snap on modis and there are no stored codes. Sorry i did not have the opportunity to hook it up on a cold start though to monitor pressures. I would think if they caused an air leak in the system it would have some running issues when i first got it running. But i just pump the primer a few times and it fires right up, no smoke or nothing.

New 0mega
10-13-2009, 03:24 AM
It is true that the Duramax does not have a lift pump on the truck the CP3 pump draws the fuel by vacuum. Make sure your fuel filter is on good, if the fuel line sucks air then it will not flow properly to the engine. There are aftermarket lift pump options because there is no lift pump. You might have to run an anti-gel till you are able to get a batch of winter diesel.

2500HD03
10-13-2009, 04:05 AM