Turn up an older Cummins? - TheDieselGarage.com
TheDieselGarage.com
 

Home Forum Who's Online Today's Posts Vendors Advertise
Go Back   TheDieselGarage.com > Heavy, Medium, Work Trucks and Trailers > Heavy Duty

Thread Details Posted by ash_flat_diesel, this thread has received 38 replies and been viewed 16683 times.

TheDieselGarage.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2007, 01:19 AM   #1
ash_flat_diesel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NE Arkansas
Posts: 386
Points: 23,479
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to ash_flat_diesel
Turn up an older Cummins?

I think its a 400 Cummins but not sure exactly. Its in a Tri Axle International Dump truck about mid 80's. What can be done to it to help with power? It makes hardly any smoke at all now. Thanks!
ash_flat_diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2007, 01:26 AM   #2
John_G
Super Moderator
 
John_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 4,247
Points: 43,994
Thanks: 101
Thanked 406 Times in 347 Posts
More power is rather simple on those older engines.

If you want smoke, that's something else entirely.

Lack of smoke does NOT mean lack of power, in fact, it means you are getting power from ALL the fuel you are using, instead of blowing 1/2 of the fuel out the stack as soot
__________________
'93 F-250 HD, 7.3L IDI, 5spd - FARM TRUCK
I Support: Trailer brakes an every axle over the towing vehicle's GVW; CDLs for RVers; Safety inspections for ALL vehicles and 6 axle trucks (97K GVW proposal).

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote - Benjamin Franklin

I vote for LIBERTY!
John_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 01:28 AM   #3
bmoeller
Senior Member
 
bmoeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NW IL
Posts: 4,731
Points: 48,057
Thanks: 153
Thanked 359 Times in 305 Posts
Don't exactly recommend doing this,but, if it has a PT pump, just put a pair of vice grips on the fuel return line. Just don't pinch it off completely. It raises the fuel pressure, and gives more power.

JohnG is right, though.
__________________
"Some people are educated beyond their intelligence."

'93 W350 CC, LE, 5spd, HTT modded H1C, 4" DE

Sold- '99 3500 Q/C, SO CTD, 4x4, 5spd.

Traded off- '97 3500 C/C, 4x4, CTD

'92 W250, LE, CC, CTD w/ tweaked pump (SOLD)


"Obama = Hoax and Chains"

If Obama is the answer, it must have been a stupid question.
bmoeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 03:30 AM   #4
curtmu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Points: 481
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What is your gov setting. Sometimes lack of power is just the engine not winding high enough.
__________________
Curtmu
Northwestern Indiana Union Millwright & Member of the Gravy Sucking Pigs
curtmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 12:37 AM   #5
ash_flat_diesel
Senior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NE Arkansas
Posts: 386
Points: 23,479
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to ash_flat_diesel
Thanks guys. I will check a few things & get back to ya.
ash_flat_diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 01:38 AM   #6
chris142
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 380
Points: 19,694
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
There are "Buttons" in the pump you can change to get more fuel to it. I heard that setting the injectors loose will give it a little more fuel too.

Edit: Finding buttons can be a little hard. Probly due to emission reasons.
chris142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 12:07 AM   #7
curtmu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Points: 481
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The pump uses a spring and washers to change the governor setting. There is a screw in the middle of the governor spring that I think raises the pump pressure. The more washers the faster the governor setting, there are also different springs rates to course adjust the setting.
__________________
Curtmu
Northwestern Indiana Union Millwright & Member of the Gravy Sucking Pigs
curtmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 12:28 AM   #8
chris142
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 380
Points: 19,694
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtmu
There is a screw in the middle of the governor spring that I think raises the pump pressure.

The screw in the govenor plunger adjusts the idle speed only.
chris142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 12:33 AM   #9
kevin
hot rod pete
 
kevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Points: 952
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
put a different button in your fuel pump,then your truck will haul ***** :smoke
kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 12:37 AM   #10
chris142
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 380
Points: 19,694
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin
put a different button in your fuel pump,then your truck will haul ***** :smoke
Ya dats what I said:Thumbup: But you can't just buy a button anymore. At least not here in SoCal, Better off finding a pump to steal the button out of.
chris142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
855 more power


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

New To Site? Need Help? TDG Specials

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios