Some general questions before I Buy - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Hatya, this thread has received 13 replies and been viewed 2920 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 12:05 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Some general questions before I Buy

New to the forums, been lurking a bit.

So its 2010/11 and im a new home builder. Nuff said about that. I'm considering hauling some trailers since I live in Northern In, basically the RV manufacturing capitol of the world. I plan on doing this along with some home rehabs until the economy turns around.

To do so I need a truck capable of towing 5th wheel trailers, definitely a DRW truck. Im leaning very hard towards a new F350 DRW 4x4. I need a truck for my construction company, so I will just upgrade my 1/2 ton to a new 1 ton in order to do the towing gig.

Basically the RV companies will not hire you on unless you have a truck that is 5 years old or newer. But many of the guys that have responded to my questions in the towing forums have said that the emissions on the new truck just kill the milage, making them unprofitable for constant towing.

After reading thru these forums it seems that most guys are getting pretty dam good milage towing some big trailers. And empty these trucks get better milage then my current 08 1500.

Im hoping to be able to average 15 MPG round trip, I will be loaded 1 way and return empty. I have done all of my trip calculations based on 15 mpg average and I find the trip profits will be acceptable at this rate.

The new trucks seems to have some huge benefits over the olders trucks, better fuel economy, better transmissions, engine braking systems and so on.

All that being said why does it seems that guys already doing RV towing bad rap the new trucks? Are these guys just old school hard heads that refuse to think outside of the box?

If anyone is towing RV regularly or as a job I'd love to hear from you.