lift pump? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by weebz90, this thread has received 19 replies and been viewed 1304 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-04-2006, 05:05 AM Thread Starter

lift pump?

im new to the scene but ive studying diesels for a while but what is a lift pump and what does it do?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-04-2006, 05:43 AM

The lift pump pulls fuel out of the tank and feeds it at positive pressure to the injection pump. On your truck, LP failures are very common and usually result in Injection (IP) failure as well.

New? Welcome. Now go and get yourself a Fuel Pressure gauge so you can keep tas on your LP. Even under stock power they fail like crazy.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-04-2006, 10:56 AM
TDG Mafia Member #21

You definatly need a fp gauge to keep uour injection pump healthy.

2007 F350 CC 4x4, EGR delete, stock for now

Old truck :"01" Dodge 3500 DRW. Goerend Bros w/ triple disk, Edge Drag Comp, Jammer Stage 5's, Turnbuckle, Dakota Digital and ISSPRO Gauges, BHAF,4" FLO-PRO exhaust, Vulcan kit, Holley Blue Pump, TC Lockup Switch, Snow stage 2, a few more little bits in the works

377hp and 823tq @ Smokin' (with stage 3's/no drag upgrade)
"400" club wannabe
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-04-2006, 12:25 PM

I dont wanna start a fight but I disagree. Ithink the first step is upgrade the fuel system. At the very least an aux lift pump and low pressure light.My fuel press with this setup is 18 psi at idle, and I have not seen the light come on yet.With the smarty and quadzilla I can, and regalarly do, rev this combo to 34-3500 rpms with no fueling problems.If Ineed to upgrade after my injectors it would be to a cam and mechanical pump.Just my narrow minded opinion.
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-04-2006, 02:49 PM
TDG Mafia Member #21