Clutch Trouble - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by bdizzel, this thread has received 7 replies and been viewed 622 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2008, 05:23 PM Thread Starter

Question Clutch Trouble

My brother-in-law has an 01 ram 2500 with 24valve cummins. not that much done to it, but for some odd reason(can't really figure out how) he blew up both discs on a double disk south bend clutch. it is a 6-speed. he had the clutch taken out an went to a single disk rated for around 475hp. the clutch seems like it's ok. it's only been in there for a day, and i have lots of diesel driving experience. my question is that it doesn't engage the clutch until it's about 3or 4 inches off the floor. i have had many diesel manual trucks, but never a 6-speed cummins. is this common for these clutches or did the machanic install it wrong or not adjust it right? any help would be appreciated. thanks.:smoke
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2008, 06:24 PM

i still have the stock clutch at 69000. i got the truck at 55000. the clutch has always grabbed at the very top of the pedal travel. i have recently did some mods to it and now it is slipping i will need a new one soon.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-13-2008, 02:48 AM

Its not uncommon for the clutch to release close to the top. esp. with hyd. clutches. As far as adjustment, there isn't any on hydraulic clutches. Generally on newer vehicles the only thing you can adjust is toe play on the pedal if ur lucky. Did you put another south bend clutch in it? I was jus wondering because I only put 2 of there clutch kits in, and have problems with both of them. I wish I knew of the name of the cluch comp. someone recomm. on here to me months ago. Because thats who I want to try next !