The Diesel Garage banner

Diesel Smoke and Spartan

5K views 14 replies 12 participants last post by  08stroker250 
#1 ·
Hey everyone- Just hoping to get some answers on a diesel questions as I am new to the diesel world. I just bought an 09 F250 Crew Cab 6.4 and have not owned a diesel in 10+ years. Bought the Ford because of the synch sytem, engine, and the fact Ford hasn't taken any bailout money.

My question are as follows:

Looking at putting a Spartan tuner in my truck. I will read all the posts as to the pro's and con's but I am most curious about the amount of black smoke it will throw after install and the dpf delete. I don't mind being a jackass as far as driving fast or having a loud truck (also have a hd fatboy I run with straight pipes) but I don't really want to smoke people out at every stoplight I decide to get after it.(Tire smoke is ok:peelout)

Any insight from you guys would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Chip

#2 ·
If you nail the throttle at every stop sign or light your going to leave some smoke. If you stay in it you will leave a black cloud. If you power brake at the intersection it will be shut down for awhile until the smoke clears. I ease into the throttle with the 310 and do not leave smoke and evevryone is happy including my tires.

#3 ·
smoke with the 210 tunes and under are little higher then stock with the DPF removed. With the 250 and up. Smoke is managable with the right foot. the 275 WILL black out an intersection if you happen to line up to a ricer with a thumping stereo and the guy figures everyone should listen to his music too.

#7 ·
The 210 will be the perfect tune, Most safeties are in tact, goes great and its impossible to smoke anyone out with it.... unless you touch the brakes at a light then its just tire smoke

#8 ·
While I can give you a 210 review about smoke...