T444E IH sputtering and blowing White smoke. - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Rough and Wretched, this thread has received 6 replies and been viewed 1515 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-05-2017, 04:42 PM Thread Starter

T444E IH sputtering and blowing White smoke.

Hi folks, I am not much of a mechanic. I'm a rock Drummer. Unfortunately that means usually broke so Fixing ain't a choice. And to be honest beating the hell out of stuff with sticks and mechanics don't really mix Lol...

Anyway to the topic at hand. A friend called me for help cause he has a 1999 T444E international cube Truck and he has an interesting problem. He called me cause International is offering their Servicemaxx software free so I ordered a cable to enable me to make changes to governor and cruise in an IH bus I use for the band.

On to his problem it's a 99 T444E manual tranny. It start good. it idles well. No codes. Did the sensor test and injector test. all looks good. But when you accelerate hard parked or driving. It seems to accelerate good to about 12 to 1500 RPM then it begins to sputter and blow a large cloud of white blueish smoke up to about 2000 RPM Then accelerates to the governor and sits there just fine. This sputtering and white smoke only happens through the center, during acceleration, under load. I watched and compared the desired injector pressure and actual injector pressure through acceleration and it matches. There is variance but it's higher or lower sputters the same either way.