First Pull... Need any tips/advice.. - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Cowboy, this thread has received 7 replies and been viewed 963 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-25-2007, 11:57 PM Thread Starter

First Pull... Need any tips/advice..

Hey guys.. I'm not new to diesels, but I am new to the sled pulling scene. I've seen it done at county fairs, and I was absolutely in awe. I know it's been posted a million times here, and answered twice that, but what advice do you have for a first time sled jerker?

Now before this goes any further, I'll set it straight, I don't want to do this professionally. I just want to get out on the dirt, hook to something heavy and see how my truck reacts to it and what it's going to do. I just want to pull a few county fairs out of the year. Mostly back home, and now where I live now.

Truck has the current mods that are listed in my signature, and will have the coming soon mods by the time next year rolls around. I don't plan to do any pulling now. Just focusing on getting my truck built up to a decent state where I can pull. It isn't much over stock. Right now, all I have is an Edge Comp with the wire tapped, a Vulcan big line lift pump relocation kit, S&B Intake, and a straight pipe.

The clutch is also slipping BADLY, and the rear main seal is leaking which is what is causing the clutch to slip. Both of these will be replaced SOON.

So, for the first timer, what do you reccomend I do from the second the hook drops, until the truck won't "go" anymore? I've watched pulling video's on YouTube, and I'm not really fond of how the truck stops when it won't go. It seems like it just "spews" all at once. I can't see how this is very healthy. Being mine is a standard, I assume once it stops, I just clutch it really fast, and take it out of gear until everything is unhooked?

Need tips guys.. Any advice will be appreciated and put to use!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement