DPF Pressure Sensor - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by mongoose, this thread has received 8 replies and been viewed 4601 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Points: 2,573
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DPF Pressure Sensor

So this weekend I reverted to stock for my state inspection... I forgot how much better these trucks are with Spartan.

This morning on the way to work the truck had its first regen cycle. After a 2 hour stop, restarted the truck, and got the check engine light. The DPF pressure sensor code was set. Upon inspecting my DPF pressure sensor it has a hole clean through it. EGTs never got above 1200F during the regen.

I had the DPF pressure sensor hooked up when I was running the delete tunes. It was my belief that this was required. Was it just coincidence that the sensor failed or was it something else like soot in the sensor cooking off during the regen and this can be expected when switching back to stock.

I have a new sensor on order from the dealership but am curious why this may have happened. Comments?

Thanks in advance.
mongoose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Little Smoky
Posts: 1,415
Points: 38,128
Thanks: 42
Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
they just need to be plugged in for some kind of signal, if it screws up while tuned you wont notice it. so its probibly been messed up for awhile.

2008 F-350 Lariet 6.4L 170,000 km spartan tuned 275 daily
2006 yamaha Vmax
2003 F-350 XLT 6.0L just bought 215,000 km all stock for now.
2003 suzuki 1000 GSX-R
1993 F-250 460
1978 F-150 stock waiting for a paint job

Near GP alberta.

CC#58
budtoh3zo is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Points: 2,573
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Budtoh3zo thanks.

It did not have a hole in it when I switched back yesterday. This definitely happened today on the way to work today. It was at most 40mi of driving and 1 regen in a stock configuration before this happened.

The timing just seems strange to me.
mongoose is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Little Smoky
Posts: 1,415
Points: 38,128
Thanks: 42
Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
thats odd, i wounder if it just detieroated and couldnt take the heat.

2008 F-350 Lariet 6.4L 170,000 km spartan tuned 275 daily
2006 yamaha Vmax
2003 F-350 XLT 6.0L just bought 215,000 km all stock for now.
2003 suzuki 1000 GSX-R
1993 F-250 460
1978 F-150 stock waiting for a paint job

Near GP alberta.

CC#58
budtoh3zo is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2010, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 179
Points: 36,082
Thanks: 17
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
I had my dpf pressure sensor melt like you described once. I went back to stock for some warranty work. It was like it has hit with a blow torch and burned a hole clean through. I have no idea why it happened. The pressure sensor looked fine when I took it off the delete pipe.

2008 F-350 6.4 Power Stroke 4X4
CC LWB SRW Auto 3.73's
BigIslandBoy is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-23-2010, 03:34 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Points: 2,573
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BigIslandBoy - Exactly. Hit by a torch is a good description. After you replaced it have you ever reverted to stock again and if so did you have any further problems?

Hopefully the sensor will come in tomorrow as now the truck seems to be stuck in regen.... have to drive the car tomorrow.

Thanks.
mongoose is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-23-2010, 10:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 179
Points: 36,082
Thanks: 17
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
No idea. I have not gone back to stock after I replaced the pressure sensor.

2008 F-350 6.4 Power Stroke 4X4
CC LWB SRW Auto 3.73's
BigIslandBoy is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 04:16 PM
Junior Member
 
dgrindst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 42
Points: 16,135
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I leave the factory pressure sensor fitting in the stock pipe since it is usually destroyed on the thread end. On the delete pipe, use a 1/4"P X 1/4" barb fitting, with a 10-32 screw plugging the hole on the barb end so soot doesn't get to the sensor. The factory fittings are available from FloPro but they are about $20 each.

2008 F450 4X4, 6.4 PS, Edge CTS, SCT 9625OR with RCD 450 V12 tune, S&B airbox, Flowpro 5" exhaust, down pipe, egr block, Banks intercooler, RCD charge air pipe, Titan 60 gal tank, Air Dog fuel system.
dgrindst is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 07:03 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA,DE,MD
Posts: 65
Points: 2,661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Don't want to high jack, but what sensor does the dashdaq use for Back pressure readings?
first_ford is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DPF pressure sensor Pistol1583 2008-2010 6.4L Engine Tuner Forum 12 02-19-2009 04:15 AM
Cat 3116e: Fuel Temp Sensor & Boost Pressure Sensor probablecause Medium and Heavy Duty 0 02-03-2009 02:54 AM
Oil Pressure Sensor wknight4x4 7.3L and 6.9 IDI (Pre 1994) 1 03-14-2008 01:29 AM
where do i put my oil pressure sensor? SICKS-O 1994-2003 7.3L Power Stroke 9 05-31-2007 01:12 AM
Oil pressure sensor bad_cummins Whats Been Sold 0 10-18-2006 08:16 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome