HP, TQ, Dynos, a new beginning... - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by ernesteugene, this thread has received 14 replies and been viewed 3871 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-23-2008, 08:48 PM Thread Starter

HP, TQ, Dynos, a new beginning...

Some things will be the same as before, I'm still 66 years old and counting, but this time around I'll try to make my posts easier to read and understand! I only have my notes to go on because as I posted on FTE...

Disaster at The Diesel Garage Forum!!!
http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/80...age-forum.html

... Ironically I thought documenting all my work here on The Diesel Garage Forum would protect it in case my computer should crash! Well back to the drawing board with my previous introduction...

This post might seem a little weird to many, so let me explain. I'm a 66 year old engineer whose retirement hobby is analyzing topics that interest me, and I enjoy sharing these results with others. I used to analyze for dough, but now it's just to know! I often find when analyzing a topic using math and equations, that many things which I thought I knew about it turn out to be only partially true or even totally false. I realize that non-engineers don't like equations and such, but you just can't adequately understand and explain some things without them. I'll try to make equations as easy to understand as possible, and here's some reasons why you might be interested in putting up with them...

#1) Dynamometers don't measure rear wheel HP or rear wheel TQ! You do get some dyno numbers for HP and TQ, but the TQ numbers lead to endless confusion, and you'd be better off not even knowing them!

#2) Having separate dyno categories for highest HP and highest TQ is like playing high low poker, and the real dyno prize should be based on wining the whole pot!