Ditch Witch J20 PTO Belt Replacement HELP! - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by in_garage, this thread has received 5 replies and been viewed 5583 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-27-2008, 02:25 AM Thread Starter

Ditch Witch J20 PTO Belt Replacement HELP!

Hello all,
I am a newbie to the site and this is my first post. Although this post relates to an old Ditch Witch tractor, I am looking forward to checking out the diesel pickup forums because I am looking for a diesel duallie for hauling my vintage military vehicles to club events (1944 Ford M20 Armored Car in particular - 7 tons). Also I work in the area of gas and diesel vehicle preventive maintenance and repair (rep for BG Products chemicals and service equipment) so I want to improve my knowledge of diesels in general.

This question is about my Ditch Witch J20 trenching tractor. It's a late 1970s unit. I need to know how to replace the three belts that transmit PTO power to the digger. am also looking for an owners manual or other source for maintenance information.

In a separate post I will post a photo of the PTO shaft going to the belts at the rear of the tractor.

Maybe this setup is similar to other vehicles. I was thinking the pulley could be loosened and slid left on the shaft, allowing the belts to come off to the right, but there is an off-center shaft on the right carrying what could be an idler or support wheel inside the pulley. I assume this supports the pulley when the belts are engaged and tight, but don't know if this little shaft will move right. It has two setscrews holding it.

Please don't tell me I have to disassemble the entire mechanism just to replace belts!

If you know of a better place to get info on old Ditch Witches, I am all ears!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-27-2008, 02:30 AM Thread Starter
Threadstarter

Here is the Ditch Witch PTO photo