6.7 Care and usage - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Pappy, this thread has received 13 replies and been viewed 2368 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-05-2007, 02:51 AM Thread Starter

6.7 Care and usage

I'm kind of new to all of the diesel truck thing, and I see some others that are also new. I read alot about the start up preheaters in the winter, warming up in the other seasons from a cold start, allowing the trucks to idle too much being bad for them, and letting the trucks idle until they cool, rather than just shutting them off...

What in all of this is true and false? Now I'm talking about stock trucks here.:smoke
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-05-2007, 04:08 AM

Its always a good idea to let the truck idle before you shut it off. Thats true on any diesel.

The other stuff...is true for the Ford 6.0 so I do that. The cummins guys will have to answer that one...
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-05-2007, 05:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappy
I'm kind of new to all of the diesel truck thing, and I see some others that are also new. I read alot about the start up preheaters in the winter, warming up in the other seasons from a cold start, allowing the trucks to idle too much being bad for them, and letting the trucks idle until they cool, rather than just shutting them off...

What in all of this is true and false? Now I'm talking about stock trucks here.:smoke
All of it. You need to let the truck idle to warm and cool down. Or really it's just a good habit to get into. To long of a Idle time is also bad too. The pistons get too cool and allow by pass around the piston rings, just to name one bad thing. But ya, I'd try to limit your idle time to 15 minutes max.

Start up and cool down: Start up depends on how cold the engine is.
Cool down depends on how hot the turbo is.
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-05-2007, 11:24 PM