Newbie Here- Hello All - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by mattb84, this thread has received 0 replies and been viewed 187 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 11-02-2017, 09:14 PM Thread Starter

Newbie Here- Hello All

Hi guys,

Im a fabricator in North Carolina. I have 2 powerstroke trucks- one is a 16 f350 with service camper shell/bed slide and the other a 07 F550 service truck with crane, welder, air compressor.

The 6.7 is an amazing engine so far with 2 years and 60,000 miles of seat time. I have had to replace the transmission control module under warranty. No other issues. This truck has power for days and is so quiet.

The F-550 i have owned since June of this year. I purchased it in Florida, had one of my guys fly down and bring it back. He checked it out from top to bottom, handed them the check, and headed back to North Carolina with it. Its an 800 or so mile trip. The truck ran like a dream all the way back. Late the next day he pulls into the shop with it and cut the truck off. We talked a little while as he was stretching his leg and he decided he wanted to show me how to operate the crane, air compressor, etc. So he fires it up and is in the process of moving the truck around the side of the shop where there is more room and the truck sputters a bit and dies.

Now while I have never owned a 6.0, I am quite aware of their reputation and have turned a wrench on more than one. I fully expected to drop several thousand into the engine at some point. I did not consider the time would be before I had even sat behind the wheel.

We had a scanguage and pretty quickly determined that we didnt have any pressure building from the LPOP. Confirmed this at the filter housing. Lifter failure took it out.