SCT X3 Question - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by SledMan, this thread has received 6 replies and been viewed 1378 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-25-2010, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
SledMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Siler City, NC
Posts: 1,811
Points: 93,477
Thanks: 20
Thanked 576 Times in 452 Posts
Garage
SCT X3 Question

Do I have to return the truck to stock to add custom tunes to the handheld tuner? I just bought a tune from Innovative, and I think I remember him saying i had to return to stock. Thanks in advance!!!!!

2005 250 Super Duty Crew. White and Grey. ARP studs, EGR Delete, and SCT from Vivian. CCV re-route, and 4" Magnaflow turbo back.

Other trucks:1980 KW Ext hood, 1982 Kenworth Cabover Aerodyne (BJ and the Bear) 2000 and 2003 Kenworth W900's. 2003 Pete EXHD. All Caterpillar Power. My 2003 has an MBN I converted to 6NZ. Early 550 file, 211-3025 squirts. 800 cam. Acert twins via custom mount. ARP head bolts.


Transporter and Operator of a Bauer Built Championship Unlimited Tractor Pulling Sled for the United Pullers of the Carolinas, Region IV affiliate of the National Tractor Pullers Association (NTPA), and damn proud of it!!!!
SledMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-26-2010, 03:18 AM
Rollin' the Coal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Points: 8,550
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
I would just to make sure if something goes south that you keep the stock file.
American_Pride is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-2011, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
SledMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Siler City, NC
Posts: 1,811
Points: 93,477
Thanks: 20
Thanked 576 Times in 452 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by American_Pride View Post
I would just to make sure if something goes south that you keep the stock file.
This is my question......I have an ID tune in my truck now. I want to add another custom tune to my SCT. Do I have to return the truck to stock BEFORE adding another cutom tune to the tuner? Or, just plug the SCT to my desktop, and add the custom tune.

Then when I want to change from one custom tune, to the one I added, do I need return to stock?

2005 250 Super Duty Crew. White and Grey. ARP studs, EGR Delete, and SCT from Vivian. CCV re-route, and 4" Magnaflow turbo back.

Other trucks:1980 KW Ext hood, 1982 Kenworth Cabover Aerodyne (BJ and the Bear) 2000 and 2003 Kenworth W900's. 2003 Pete EXHD. All Caterpillar Power. My 2003 has an MBN I converted to 6NZ. Early 550 file, 211-3025 squirts. 800 cam. Acert twins via custom mount. ARP head bolts.


Transporter and Operator of a Bauer Built Championship Unlimited Tractor Pulling Sled for the United Pullers of the Carolinas, Region IV affiliate of the National Tractor Pullers Association (NTPA), and damn proud of it!!!!
SledMan is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2011, 07:47 AM
Rollin' the Coal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Points: 8,550
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garage
It is always recommended to go back to stock before adding tunes to the tuner. Once you get the tunes you want on the tuner you can mix and match all you want.
American_Pride is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
InnovativeDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,045
Points: 61,775
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 31 Posts
Images: 1
Backup your stock program with the Updater software. You'll have nothing to worry about after that.
InnovativeDiesel is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 06:06 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,478
Thanks: 377
Thanked 623 Times in 364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by InnovativeDiesel View Post
Backup your stock program with the Updater software. You'll have nothing to worry about after that.
Is the Updater software something new?
wastedwagesracing is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-04-2011, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
InnovativeDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,045
Points: 61,775
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 31 Posts
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by wastedwagesracing View Post
Is the Updater software something new?
There's a newer version available at sctflash.com

It's just the normal update software for loading tunes.
InnovativeDiesel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo Question(Tech Question) Liftedpsd 2003-2007 6.0L Power Stroke 7 09-16-2007 03:35 PM
Boost question, maybe MAP sensor question 6_Myles 1994-2003 7.3L Power Stroke 5 10-28-2006 12:42 AM
Edge Juice Question Question Jaadc01 General Ford Truck and Excursion 6 05-23-2006 12:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome