EGR off in tune or EGR delete. - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by whanner, this thread has received 13 replies and been viewed 113040 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-24-2012, 10:45 PM Thread Starter

EGR off in tune or EGR delete.

What is the difference in having the EGR turned off with a tune vs doing a true EGR delete?

06' F350
I'm not a Diesel Mechanic or Expert. All posts are just guesstimations.
4" Turbo Back Exhaust, 2" lift in front,1" Lift In the Rear, EGT Gauge, ARP Studs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2012, 06:10 AM

First let me explain a fully functioning egr valve and cooler so you get a better picture. Hot exhaust gasses are diverted into an egr cooler off the exhaust manifolds, then they are cooled by the egr cooler, and the flow of the cooled exhaust gasses into the intake manifold is controlled by the egr valve.

Egr off in a tune, turns off the egr valve. No exhaust gasses will enter the intake manifold.

However, with the egr turned off in a tune, and "still retaining the egr cooler", you will still have the same "hot exhaust pressure gasses" that drive the turbine wheel of the turbo, pressurizing and dead heading in the egr cooler.

Egr delete, you are removing the egr cooler, and rerouting a coolant bypass plumbing pipe in it's place. No more exhaust gasses deadheading into anything.

Harry

Jan 03' built 6.0/F250cc4wd trqsft/SCT-tuned by KEM-Performance/Garrett Powermax vg-turbo/blue spring mod/gauges=egt+boost+fuel+SG2/exhaust/airaid intake/DR 4.5 lift/dual bilsteins/315's/greasable ball joints/powerstop/smittybuilt/kc lights/high idle mod/roll-n-lock/Mobil Delvac1 ESP 5W40 with (Archoil AR9100 in the oil) and (AR6200 in the fuel)
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2012, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
Threadstarter