Not sure what to ask for.... - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by whanner, this thread has received 16 replies and been viewed 3176 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-26-2012, 03:42 PM Thread Starter

Not sure what to ask for....

So I plan on doing my EGR delete in a few months and I have ARP head studs and will need 2 tunes for the EGR delete but I don't know what to ask the tuner for. I am more interested in a reliable truck than having a hot rod. here is what I want, a stock or maybe a hair better performance daily driver tune and the same for a safe tow tune. I know I need 2 tunes so what do I ask for spec wise to achieve this? Lets just say the 5th wheel weighs around 15Klbs to be safe. Keep in mind it has to have some kind of tune to keep it out of limp mode with the EGR delete.

06' F350
I'm not a Diesel Mechanic or Expert. All posts are just guesstimations.
4" Turbo Back Exhaust, 2" lift in front,1" Lift In the Rear, EGT Gauge, ARP Studs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-26-2012, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter

I called these guys and liked what they had to say and their prices so I went with their tow tunes. They have an unlimited tune that keeps the truck almost stock and keeps it from limp mode with the EGR delete which is what I am looking for.
http://www.gearheadautomotiveperformance.com/index.php

06' F350
4" Turbo Back Exhaust, 2" lift in front,1" Lift In the Rear, EGT Gauge, ARP Studs.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-26-2012, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter

One thing I didn't know, They said to leave the EGR valve in place and connected when I do the EGR delete... with his tunes and EGR valve connected but off, the fan retains proper function in tow haul.... good to know because I use that function on steep grades.... I think its used to load the engine and help slow you down.

06' F350