Superchips and Warranty - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by snowgoose, this thread has received 8 replies and been viewed 938 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 44
Points: 23,088
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Superchips and Warranty

Hearing so many rumors about Ford dealers being able to tell if a tuner had ever been installed I asked Superchips the question.

Here is Superchips' answer:

"As long as you return your vehicle back to stock before taking it to the dealer for ANYTHING .. even if it’s just for wiper blades or a car wash. If you do this, then you will not have any issues with the dealer or your warranty.

Remember, you must also drive your vehicle in stock trim to let your vehicle’s PCM re-learn its parameters BEFORE you take it to the dealer. This will eliminate the chance of a code popping into or staying in the system. You should be fine after that."

Hopefully this will dispell the rumors --


2006, F-350, 6.0, 4x4, Lariat, crew cab, long bed with Leer 180 shell
MagnaFlow 4" turbo back exhaust system
DC Power Engineering 190 amp alternator
Firestone 2400 Ride-Rite air bags
Ranch Hand Legend grill guard
Isspro four gauge pillar set
HID Bi-Xenon headlights
HFCM water drain plug
Fumoto oil drain valve
Accufab intake elbow
Bilstein 5100 shocks
Ctek batteries tender
DFuser coolant filter
Rotella Ultra ELC
Blue Spring mod
Bilstein stabilizer
ScanGauge II
Up-idle mod
Zoodad
Archoil (AR9100, AR6200) & PRI-D & PRI-G Dealer
http://www.johnfjensen.com
snowgoose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 10:25 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,427
Points: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah ok, but how long do you drive the truck before the pcm re-learns? 40 cycles or so?
heinzboy is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 44
Points: 23,088
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinzboy
Yeah ok, but how long do you drive the truck before the pcm re-learns? 40 cycles or so?
I can't tell whether you're being sarcastic or really want to know. If you really want to know you could email Superchips and ask them.

:shrug:


2006, F-350, 6.0, 4x4, Lariat, crew cab, long bed with Leer 180 shell
MagnaFlow 4" turbo back exhaust system
DC Power Engineering 190 amp alternator
Firestone 2400 Ride-Rite air bags
Ranch Hand Legend grill guard
Isspro four gauge pillar set
HID Bi-Xenon headlights
HFCM water drain plug
Fumoto oil drain valve
Accufab intake elbow
Bilstein 5100 shocks
Ctek batteries tender
DFuser coolant filter
Rotella Ultra ELC
Blue Spring mod
Bilstein stabilizer
ScanGauge II
Up-idle mod
Zoodad
Archoil (AR9100, AR6200) & PRI-D & PRI-G Dealer
http://www.johnfjensen.com
snowgoose is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 11:24 PM
Member
 
jd87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Points: 1,472
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It takes about 20 miles for a computer to "re-learn" after something like a battery disconnect, I'd imagine the same distance for this.

Finished rebuilder 2005 F250 Power Stroke CC SWB FX4 XLT, 2.5"F/1"R skyjacker lift kit, diamond-plate bed caps, Line-X, Sonic Blue Pearl, Billet grille inserts, 17" Mickey Thompson Classic II's, 35" Hankook Mud Terrain's

Current Project: 97 F350 Power Stroke CC LWB XLT 4x4, sideswiped, 62k miles.
jd87 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 11:59 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,592
Points: 52,810
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If they realy need to know... they can find it...period
imported_diesel71 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-14-2006, 01:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Points: 1,078
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
examples:
Truck is dead and is towed to the dealer: (you can not put any miles before the service)=If you removed the tuning , the ONLY code they see is P0603 DTC=Internal control MOD KAM (K.eep A.live M.emory) error. This is the SAME code as when you remove the battery voltage from the computer, and it resets you driving habits information.

Program removed from the truck and you drive it for 50-100 miles and the computer relearns the new driving habits: Dealer CAN'T see anything!!

Leave the tune in the truck and take it to the dealer: He can NOT read that you have a tune in the computer UNLESS you tell them.
***If you do not remove the tune and the dealer reflashes the computer, you LOOSE the tuning.**** There is a charge to reprogram the tuner to work again!!!

I hope this helps.
Ron
superchip tuner is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-14-2006, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 44
Points: 23,088
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Here's the latest info for those who were asking:

Question:
How far do we have to drive the vehicle for it to re-learn its parameters?

Superchips' Answer:
Let it warm up completely, then do some steady highway driving for at least 5 minutes around 55mph. Also do some accelerating through the gears, as well as coast down from cruising speeds. That should more or less hit all the parameters that the computer needs to see. It’s not exact, as every car/truck is different.


2006, F-350, 6.0, 4x4, Lariat, crew cab, long bed with Leer 180 shell
MagnaFlow 4" turbo back exhaust system
DC Power Engineering 190 amp alternator
Firestone 2400 Ride-Rite air bags
Ranch Hand Legend grill guard
Isspro four gauge pillar set
HID Bi-Xenon headlights
HFCM water drain plug
Fumoto oil drain valve
Accufab intake elbow
Bilstein 5100 shocks
Ctek batteries tender
DFuser coolant filter
Rotella Ultra ELC
Blue Spring mod
Bilstein stabilizer
ScanGauge II
Up-idle mod
Zoodad
Archoil (AR9100, AR6200) & PRI-D & PRI-G Dealer
http://www.johnfjensen.com
snowgoose is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-14-2006, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 44
Points: 23,088
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Here's the latest info for those who were asking:

Question:
How far do we have to drive the vehicle for it to re-learn its parameters?

Superchips' Answer:
Let it warm up completely, then do some steady highway driving for at least 5 minutes around 55mph. Also do some accelerating through the gears, as well as coast down from cruising speeds. That should more or less hit all the parameters that the computer needs to see. It’s not exact, as every car/truck is different.


2006, F-350, 6.0, 4x4, Lariat, crew cab, long bed with Leer 180 shell
MagnaFlow 4" turbo back exhaust system
DC Power Engineering 190 amp alternator
Firestone 2400 Ride-Rite air bags
Ranch Hand Legend grill guard
Isspro four gauge pillar set
HID Bi-Xenon headlights
HFCM water drain plug
Fumoto oil drain valve
Accufab intake elbow
Bilstein 5100 shocks
Ctek batteries tender
DFuser coolant filter
Rotella Ultra ELC
Blue Spring mod
Bilstein stabilizer
ScanGauge II
Up-idle mod
Zoodad
Archoil (AR9100, AR6200) & PRI-D & PRI-G Dealer
http://www.johnfjensen.com
snowgoose is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-14-2006, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
CSIPSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bend OR
Posts: 6,337
Points: 55,013
Thanks: 19
Thanked 78 Times in 70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by superchip tuner
examples:
Truck is dead and is towed to the dealer: (you can not put any miles before the service)=If you removed the tuning , the ONLY code they see is P0603 DTC=Internal control MOD KAM (K.eep A.live M.emory) error. This is the SAME code as when you remove the battery voltage from the computer, and it resets you driving habits information.

Program removed from the truck and you drive it for 50-100 miles and the computer relearns the new driving habits: Dealer CAN'T see anything!!

Leave the tune in the truck and take it to the dealer: He can NOT read that you have a tune in the computer UNLESS you tell them.
***If you do not remove the tune and the dealer reflashes the computer, you LOOSE the tuning.**** There is a charge to reprogram the tuner to work again!!!

I hope this helps.
Ron
So when Ford VOIDS my warranty for adding a power enhancer (noted in the book as a valid reason to void the warranty) superchips will take care of the bill... Thats good to know!:thanks:

But some of us feel if you mod it you just bought the warranty yourself...

What Ford need to do is sell these truck with NO warranty if you so want for a reduced price...

01 F-250 SC PSD,210k,16 Isspro Gauges, AFE-2,CCV Mod,IAH delete,map reg,Modded H2e, 6.0 IC, GTS Hybrid injectors, Studs, 910 Valve springs, Forged rods Water injection,Swamps tuned, MBRP 4" dual's, Aero, 6" tip's, 100 axl tank, 4" Revtek lift, 37-14.50-17 TOYO MT's 469hp and 1068tq...

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
CSIPSD is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome