Mods to raise my towing capacity??? help! - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by dawildstallion, this thread has received 11 replies and been viewed 1207 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-11-2007, 09:32 PM Thread Starter

Mods to raise my towing capacity??? help!

Ok, fellas, I am new to this page and need some advise on what mods to make to my stock '02 f-350 4x4 psd with 125,000 miles. I want to be able to tow in the 20,000lb range with reliable power and breaking. I tow a 33ft 5th wheel toyhauler that's about 14,000lbs when fully loaded with no problem. I'm in the process of getting my class A so that I can tow my '71 big block bronco that I use for sand drags behind my 5th wheel. The standard upgrades are easy, cold air intake, bigger exhaust. Going to add a progarmer but not sure which one. My truck gives me zero problems, but I'm sure it will not handle the 20,000lb range. I know the torque converter must go, but not sure which one to go with and can I do stuff to my ford tranny to deal with that much weight or do I have to go with an aftermarket tranny? I'm going to say an exhaust brake is a no brainer, but again are they all the same? I know that some motor mods have a higher risk/higher reward thing going on, but my family will be with me and I don't want to be stranded anywhere, so I'll need the additional power, but nothing too risky or unnecessary. This is my first smoker and I need help guys!!! My ears are open.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-11-2007, 10:57 PM