What to watch for in a 130K mile vehicle - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Redonthehead, this thread has received 8 replies and been viewed 696 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2007, 02:00 PM Thread Starter

What to watch for in a 130K mile vehicle

Howdy folks:

I'm not new to Fords but I am new to the big F250s with PSDs. Due to the 18 y.o. son needing one BAD. I suppose if he gets into a $$ bind he'll just have to sell it.

But anyway, I've been reading up here on the trucks and trying to figure out what to watch for in looking at a high mileage (130K) truck. ball joints? get an OASIS report? binding in 4x4 or loose driveline? Any tips would be appreciated. BTW, the truck in mind right now is a 2002 F250 CC Lariat 7.3L with 130K priced at $19,990. Very nice dark green over tan. Clean inside but obviously has been towing a 5th wheel trailer (either a cattleman or a horse lady) Might be able to take it to a mechanic for a look-see.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2007, 02:13 PM

IMO that's a bit much for that truck, where are you located?

You should start with the obvious stuff a carfax, maintenance records, drive it and listen for driveline noises or vibrations. Oil leaks, white or blue smoke. Transmission smoothness etc etc

'01, DRW, Cummins HO, 6spd, hrvp44, holley black, fbd 150hp injectors, edge juice w/ attitude, 4" magnaflow exhaust, Bullseye Power s362 turbo, BHAF, Valair Clutch
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2007, 04:08 PM
TDG MAFIA MEMBER #77

Tips on buying a used stroker

If you are looking for a 99 - 03 w/ the 7.3 here you go - mostly from Baz's page;

Things To Look For When Buying A Used Power Stroke Diesel

Turbo: