Possibly buying an early 99 f-350. lots of questions for you guys! - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by bigguy75inches, this thread has received 5 replies and been viewed 911 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-27-2007, 05:53 AM Thread Starter

Possibly buying an early 99 f-350. lots of questions for you guys!

Hey guys, Im looking to buy a work truck and came across a pretty good deal. However i know nothing about the 7.3 motors. My only diesel experiance is my 2004 6.0 piece of crap harly davidson edition f250.

Ok that being said..

the truck is a 1 ton 1999 built something like 10/98.

short cab flat bed dually. I think it has 4.10s

Its just a 2wd work truck. vinyl bench seat and floor.

it has 97,000 miles on it.

I install Tile flooring for a living and the truck belonged to another tileman who passed away. i knew him personally and he was just an old man who was easy on the truck.

Its been sitting for 2 years now. due to legal issues cuz he died. they are just now able to sell the truck.

I went and found the batterys were dead. i charged them up and it took awhile for it too fire up. I drove it a bit and it seemed like it was sluggish. the more i drove it the more responsive it became. its still slow as can be to me tho.

Its a 6speed manual btw. Im thinking i will need to change all the fluids and filters, drain the gas too. the turbo seemed sticky at first but after 2 blocks it seemed to free up and be smooth.

So here are the questions id like to know more about.

First off, should i be scared of this truck with 97k on the clock?

second, Will a chip wake the motor up on these trucks?

3, A friend mentioned something about the flexplate having issues on these trucks, and i noticed a wierd vibration noise that occurs whent he motor is in a slight bind under 1000 rpms. sounds like in the tranny area. And its a differnt noise than a motor lugging.