How does a 3 way chip actually work? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by ofg, this thread has received 3 replies and been viewed 1176 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-02-2011, 04:17 PM Thread Starter
ofg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 63
Points: 22,163
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How does a 3 way chip actually work?

O/K, heres what I mean. When you flip the 3 position switch, from stock to either of the preset tunes,,, does the new programming run through the chip constantly,, or does the chip actually reflash the ecm?

Why do I ask? If a chip was removed after it had been used in a "tune" setting,, would the ecm retain the "tune" or would it reset itself to the stock factory programming?

Chip in question is a diablo 3 position chip. Truck is a 1997 f250 PSD auto 4wd crew.

Last edited by ofg; 03-02-2011 at 04:19 PM.
ofg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-02-2011, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
plainredtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hickory Tavern, SC
Posts: 4,090
Points: 30,059
Thanks: 275
Thanked 444 Times in 285 Posts
Images: 11
The chip overrides the PCM so that it reads directly from the board on the chip. The switch just decides which tune it sees.

Once the chip is removed, the PCM should default back to whatever tuning is native to it.

A programmer is different. It loads tunes directly to the PCM.

prt

'99 F250 X-cab 2wd

powered by DP-Tuner

My Photography addiction


Mafia # 27






plainredtruck is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-02-2011, 04:54 PM Thread Starter
ofg
Junior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 63
Points: 22,163
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another question

Is it possible, that on a 3 way tuner,, the "stock" tune is something other than factory oem stock?

Reason for asking; While trying to fix the cold start problem in my truck I noticed that the tuner switch was in the top high power position, but the chip was removed. In the past, I know if I started the truck in the high power setting, it would over fuel, smoke alot, hard start, no power until it warmed up.

After replugging in the chip, and putting the switch into the "stock" position, it fired right up on this mornings cold start.

I figured either the stock setting is something other than "stock" that makes cold start easier,, perhaps its economy? or the ecm must have retained some of the "tune" setting when it was unplugged??? Perhaps the "mechanic" unplugged it with key in ignition and the ecm got confused???

Only way to tell for sure weather or not it was a fluke,, is to wait till tomorrow and go for another cold start.

So, this begs another question: On the diablo chip,, how are the tunes arranged?

3 position switch: Bottom = economy, middle = stock, top = high power?

Or, is it : bottom = stock, middle = economy, top = high power?

Last edited by ofg; 03-02-2011 at 05:02 PM.
ofg is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-05-2011, 10:19 AM
Sheep Shearer
 
Talyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Points: 17,581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
No idea on the Diablo chip having no expereince with it.

But if its a programmer, it re-flashes the PCM, which generally means you cannot hot switch tunes either.

if its a chip, it over rides, as the other guy said, and when the chip is out, its just the PCM in its original format.

The stock tunes on the Chips are updated versions of the stock tunes with the latest programming for sensors and such, like OBD2 upgrades that the 94-97's wouldn't have unless they had a PCM reflash.
Talyn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio stays on.. door locks dont work... auto lights dont work... help!!!!! sittinclean 1994-2003 7.3L Power Stroke 4 03-30-2009 05:19 PM
will this work? powerstroke11 2003-2007 6.0L Power Stroke 19 01-20-2009 10:56 PM
C4500 with chip? thought it didn't work FordRacing200 Medium and Heavy Duty 4 04-14-2007 02:19 PM
Does this work POWER STROKE 99 1994-2003 7.3L Power Stroke 16 03-02-2007 04:38 PM
7.3 Work truck chip Rich General Ford Truck and Excursion 5 12-02-2005 09:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome