Quick question about the DP chip - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by 00turboPSD, this thread has received 4 replies and been viewed 695 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2006, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 97
Points: 9,044
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quick question about the DP chip

Just wondering, but when you put a chip on the 7.3 does it affect any of the stock files when it is pulled off? I may be trying to put a chip back on my truck, but only something I could be sure is off when I take it to the shop to be tested. If I put the chip back into stock mode, would that for sure put it back to stock settings, because the edge evo didn't take all of the files off last time that it was supposed to. Any info would be appreciated. Stinks I gotta be all secretive with my modding...
00turboPSD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2006, 01:03 AM
Senior Member
 
moose99psd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: bend oregon
Posts: 2,334
Points: 43,428
Thanks: 16
Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
Send a message via AIM to moose99psd
why do u want to take it off when u take it for service? its a 2k so ur warrenty is most deff out? JW
moose99psd is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2006, 01:33 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 128
Points: 1,795
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had a friend of mine who has a Ford scan tool run a diagnostic on my truck once. With my chip in the stock mode he had no idea it was on there. If you're that worried about it just unplug it and take it out when it gets serviced or whatever. Some guys don't even have a stock setting. When they want it stock they just unplug it.

Ben
bigdiesel502 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2006, 01:48 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Points: 20,015
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
ALWAYS REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHEN REMOVING AND INSTALLING CHIPS.Can't stress that enough.When you 1st install a chip you will have to clean the contacts on the PCM.If the dealer would check they would see that the contacts had been cleaned.Inorder to clean the contacts you have to dissconnect the batteries the KAM code will be on the diagnostics.
kainers is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2006, 02:02 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 128
Points: 1,795
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Good point, Kainers.

I had a Superchips programmer on an '03 Silverado SS I used to own. When I sold it, i wanted to put it back to stock (of course). When I started the process I had accidentally left the daytime running lights on. Oops!! I fried the computer!! Thank goodness it was still under emissions warranty and I got it replaced 24hrs before the guy came to pick it up.

My point being, always take the key out (like Kainers said) and make sure NOTHING is left on or running!!

Ben
bigdiesel502 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome