DP-tuner chip not working - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by monster 4x4, this thread has received 9 replies and been viewed 1509 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2006, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Points: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DP-tuner chip not working

Well, i got a 6 pos. DP chip and it does not work. The engine cranks, but the wait to start light does not come on. i pulled the chip out and it runs fine. Any suggestion? I tried to call DP-tuner, but they are not answering right now, so i will call later, just thought i would ask yall for advice?
monster 4x4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2006, 08:27 PM
fordt
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Points: 0 [Check]
Not sure exactly what may be wrong, but I am sure that it won't be long until DP calls you back and your problem is solved.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2006, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Got Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 504
Points: 17,603
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is the PCM plenty cleaned? Just a thought.

Kyle
Early 99 F-250SD 7.3 PSD 4x4. Auto, tymar type intake, straight pipe, Six inch stacks, Tony Wildman Four position chip, Street race, 80 Tow, 80 Econo, Extreme. Let the smoke roll. Upgraded torque converter. Autometer Ultralights on the Pillar. Running Cooper Discover STT's.
Got Diesel is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2006, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Points: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah i cleaned the jumpers really well. And yeah i have heard that about DP, that i what sold me about getting a chip from them. And the fact that the tunes are awesome. I can not wait to get it working!
monster 4x4 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2006, 10:02 PM
4cstr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Points: 0 [Check]
A real stupid question...but is one of the positions of the chip a "no start" setting. Maybe the chip is in that position. :shrug:
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-03-2006, 10:33 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,154
Points: 50,653
Thanks: 131
Thanked 76 Times in 39 Posts
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster 4x4
Well, i got a 6 pos. DP chip and it does not work. The engine cranks, but the wait to start light does not come on. i pulled the chip out and it runs fine. Any suggestion? I tried to call DP-tuner, but they are not answering right now, so i will call later, just thought i would ask yall for advice?
monster 4x4,

Looking at the time you posted, if you tried to call around then we were out of the office taking our son to a doctors appointment. We are back in the office now and are working to catch up with emails and voice mails from being out of town at our event we had this past weekend. We will be working later this evening if you would like to call back tonight.

If there is no wait to start light but you can hear the engine try to crank that means there is not a good communication between the PCM and the chip. Even though you have cleaned the contacts check it again with just your finger nail. Scrape across the contacts on both sides of the connector board on the PCM. Use a towel with acetone on it to clean the contacts if you have already used the scotch brite pad. If this does not help we can send you out another chip tomorrow.

:thanks:
SeeYa is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-2006, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Points: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, i actually called you back shortly after and you answered personally. I will try to disonnect the switch to see if i can single out the problem.
Thanks Diane, i will keep you posted.

Cole
monster 4x4 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-2006, 09:21 PM
Dieselis' Maximus
 
driximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,744
Points: 23,723
Thanks: 11
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
i was useing Acetone and it was just wiping a Real Thing film over the contacts. I had to finish it them up with just cleaning them off without the acetone.

"Why in hell can't the Army do it if
the Marines can. They are the same
kind of men; why can't they be like
Marines."
Gen. John J "Black Jack" Pershing, USA; 12 February
1918
driximus is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-2006, 11:57 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 185
Points: 2,606
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had the same problem....so I kept on messing with it trying to figure it out and my comp. got fried so they ended up sending me a new chip...
Smokin7.3 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2006, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Points: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, i used a small screwdriver and my fingernail to clean the contacts. They look great. I talked to the Diane Tipton and i am going to troubleshoot some things she mentioned and if that doesnt work she said she will send me a new chip. Great company! (hard to find these days)
Thanks for the input guys
monster 4x4 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome