DP Tuner PCM? Which program - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by BlueRidgeRunner, this thread has received 9 replies and been viewed 851 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 85
Points: 1,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DP Tuner PCM? Which program

I have a F350 SRW 2wd with 4" exhaust and a Motorcraft/Donaldson intake. I currently run a SCMT at 90 hp. I have been looking at getting a PCM from Dp Tuner. I am not a fan of chips. Which would be the best all around program. I tow often and my gross is usually around 16k. My transmission is a stock 4R100. I don't want something that is gonna destroy it. Opinions?
BlueRidgeRunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
CSIPSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bend OR
Posts: 6,337
Points: 55,005
Thanks: 19
Thanked 78 Times in 70 Posts
Why are you not a fan of chips? Just asking because jody has to mod the PCM just the same as if you were running a chip to put his programs on it. The ajustability on the fly is worth its weight in gold!

01 F-250 SC PSD,210k,16 Isspro Gauges, AFE-2,CCV Mod,IAH delete,map reg,Modded H2e, 6.0 IC, GTS Hybrid injectors, Studs, 910 Valve springs, Forged rods Water injection,Swamps tuned, MBRP 4" dual's, Aero, 6" tip's, 100 axl tank, 4" Revtek lift, 37-14.50-17 TOYO MT's 469hp and 1068tq...

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
CSIPSD is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 08:46 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 85
Points: 1,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Chips require you to plug a wire into the PCM. I don't care to plug anything into my PCM. I would prefer to use a tuner or reprogramed PCM. I am not into the hotrodding of my truck. I do like having the extra power to pull trailers and haul loads. My truck is not a daily driver. I would like to equal the 90hp that I am currently running and get something that shifts better.
BlueRidgeRunner is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
plainredtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hickory Tavern, SC
Posts: 4,090
Points: 30,086
Thanks: 275
Thanked 444 Times in 285 Posts
Images: 11
Call Jody and see what he suggests. He won't steer you wrong.

I'm betting 60 tow, but that's just a hunch.

I ran an 80e for over a year in my PCM and pulled 8-10K for a good part of that.

The PCM is a decent option for someone who doesn't want a chip, but you don't want to mess with a tuner if you have your PCM programmed, IMO.

I think Jody can sell you a tuner for your truck with his tunes in it as well.


prt

'99 F250 X-cab 2wd

powered by DP-Tuner

My Photography addiction


Mafia # 27






plainredtruck is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 08:55 PM
TDG Mafia Member #73
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,003
Points: 18,808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I run Jody's 80HP econo tuned PCM. It is his best overall program. Not too mild, but not too crazy. Just right. I love it and would do it again. I would also bet it makes more HP and better MPG than what you are running now. Get it with PMT1 with extra pressure for the TC and more fuel at tip in.
mattymx is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Points: 1,470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Or you could get an Xcal2 with jody's tunes. Works just like your scmt but much better tuning.

-Steve

2001 F-250 LARIAT SC LB 4x4 7.3PSD
Diablosport Predator
4" Turbo Back Straight pipe
A-Pillar 3 gauge pod with EGT, Boost, and Tranny Temp

modieselpower is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2007, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
CSIPSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bend OR
Posts: 6,337
Points: 55,005
Thanks: 19
Thanked 78 Times in 70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRidgeRunner
Chips require you to plug a wire into the PCM. I don't care to plug anything into my PCM. I would prefer to use a tuner or reprogramed PCM. I am not into the hotrodding of my truck. I do like having the extra power to pull trailers and haul loads. My truck is not a daily driver. I would like to equal the 90hp that I am currently running and get something that shifts better.

You would be suprized how nice a chip would be but to eash there own. I am not really into "hot rodding" but it is nice to start out pulling a trailer in the morning on a 60-70hp program. Then switch to a 100hp program which will give you better MPG... then switch to a 40hp setting for going over the pass that night and not spining the tires... all without stopping for 15 minutes to change a program...

I have never seen any issues with chips frying or otherwise damaging a PCM when installed with the key out of the IC....

01 F-250 SC PSD,210k,16 Isspro Gauges, AFE-2,CCV Mod,IAH delete,map reg,Modded H2e, 6.0 IC, GTS Hybrid injectors, Studs, 910 Valve springs, Forged rods Water injection,Swamps tuned, MBRP 4" dual's, Aero, 6" tip's, 100 axl tank, 4" Revtek lift, 37-14.50-17 TOYO MT's 469hp and 1068tq...

Best Auto Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
CSIPSD is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-17-2007, 04:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,870
Points: 11,950
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
:agreed:
gregrob is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-17-2007, 04:40 PM
fordt
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Points: 0 [Check]
To some people all they want is one setting, and that's it. I can understand why someone would want a PCM only. If you don't want more than one program, why spend the extra money? You can't go wrong with anything from DP Tuner.
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-19-2007, 01:22 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 239
Points: 488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My first tune was the 60tow on my PCM. It is still my favorite!
FireHunter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome