PCM shot I think - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by ELKHUNTR, this thread has received 3 replies and been viewed 623 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 112
Points: 1,775
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
PCM shot I think

Hey everyone, today I installed my new F5 DP Tuner chip, And wow it was awesome. I got back from my test drive and was looking everything over one last time, and poked the chip with my finger and the truck died, I then wiggled the chip around with the key on and heard some arcing popping. I think I burned up the PCM, no wait to start light no fuel pump ses light is on and cannot pull any codes. All fuses are good. what do you guys think? I couldnt get ahold of Dp tuner or BWD at this time.

Josh

Josh

2000 F350 PSD CC 4X4 AT LWB 3.73s 173,000AFE STAGE I, TN.BB, EIS 200CC HYBRIDS F5 DP TUNER 4" TURBO BACK, AEROTURBINE 4040XL, 5" STACKS, ISSPRO GAUGES,PRE AND POST TURBO PYRO, SCANGAUGE.
ELKHUNTR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 10:05 PM
4cstr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Points: 0 [Check]
That can't be good. I would try to disconnect the batteries and re-connect after a half hour or so. Not sure it will improve the situation...but it won't hurt.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 10:48 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 239
Points: 488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That's a hard and fast rule with chips is to not have the keys anywhere near the ignition when the chip is loose or installing/removing it. I think you diagnosed it correctly and DP can help with the PCM situation but you are looking at some down time and additional $$ for certain. I know the PCM can fry but I believe the chip can too??? Or no?

Doh!
FireHunter is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 12:52 AM
Supporting Vendor
 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,154
Points: 50,645
Thanks: 131
Thanked 76 Times in 39 Posts
Images: 1
Hi Josh,

I just retrieved your message and read this post. I tried you but no answer. I need the DPC-??? code off the computer to see if I have a PCM in stock. :thanks:

Diane
SeeYa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome