Does a chip/Programmer really add MPG?? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Timmy, this thread has received 2 replies and been viewed 526 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-25-2007, 08:59 PM Thread Starter

Does a chip/Programmer really add MPG??

Now I am new to the whole diesel thing and I love my X with the 7.3. The wife has an Avalanche and I think it may be going down the road for a diesel pickup. Anyway all the reaserch I have been doing (reading) is about how a chip or tuner can ad major hp/tq plus improve at least 3mpg sometimes up to 6mpg. The HP/tq gains I have seen are very noticable but to get 20+ in the highway out of my 7.3 X seems to be getting difficult and maybe even a stretch. The Bully dog 6 position killed my MPG at 11 mpg, the Power Pup killed it also, not as bad as the 6 pos but went to 13.2 mpg. I will see when My DP tuner F5 shows up to see how it does. But how can an engine get that much more HP/tq by adding fuel but at the same time get metter mpg?? Mods I have as of now are an S&B intake, EGT-boost-tranny guages and a Magnaflow 4" turbo back exhaust. Would love to do more for bigger hp/tq numbers but I don't want to sacrifice mpg.

Trying to get a picture on how all this stuff works

Tim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-25-2007, 09:18 PM

Claims by some aftermarket manufactures of 4-6 mpg improvements in mileage is completely bogus. Now, with that said, yes you can improve your mileage a bit with a properly tuned chip (*cough*bullydog sucks*cough*), AND stay out of the pedal. In other words, resist the urge to use that additional power. 1/2 to 1 mpg gain can be achieved. Beyond that takes a lot of luck.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-26-2007, 12:21 PM