Resistor inline with Map Sensor??? Anyone? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by surftouch, this thread has received 9 replies and been viewed 5315 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-12-2007, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Points: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Resistor inline with Map Sensor??? Anyone?

i bought my truck used, and its got some mods done to it, But has anyone ever heard of putting a resistor in the map sensor? they cut one wire at the plug, then put a resistor on the cut part and jumped it to another wire??...i took it off and its got lag, just curious if anyone ever heard of this:shrug: :shrug:
surftouch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-13-2007, 01:04 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 790
Points: 2,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i used one until i got a map regulator. It worked ok.
lukecline is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-15-2007, 09:21 PM
The Oracle
 
BigRed97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 343
Points: 21,475
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to BigRed97
a little off topic but i have also heard of grounding the green wire from the map...what does that do?

e99 leveled on 35s
250/80, modded s300, studs, springs, push rods, adrenaline, swamps tuning, racerx trans
BigRed97 is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-15-2007, 11:20 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
Points: 16,589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Putting the resistor in line with the map sensor makes the computer think that your boosting 20lbs all the time. This makes your throttle response like a gas truck, and is also why the truck feels like it lags now, cause thats how they are stock. My buddy at the local ford dealership has it on his truck, and im doing it to my truck this weekend. Ill post back with the results.
PowerChoker32 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-16-2007, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Points: 973
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Dave from Bd diesel sent me one to try on my truck and i like it. With my edge evo II showing boost the map sensor only see's 13 lbs. of boost. never throws a over boost code. Truck seems to run good on all settings as well.

2000 Ford F250 ext cab 4x4 6 spd. PHP tuned, Glow shift gauges ( fuel, egt, boost), B and W turnover ball, Tymar intake, 5 inch mbrp exhaust w/ 6 inch tip.
tholt846 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2007, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Points: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah it Deff made it have No lagg and better Throttle response, but since my WIfe lost the resistor, I cant install it again,lol....But it does work for anyone who wants to try it:smoke
surftouch is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2007, 03:25 AM
OBS
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 403
Points: 12,597
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
where do i find an "how to" on this?

97 F-250 7.3 psd 4x4: homemade Intake, fpr mod, IDM mod, 18k mod, HX mod, a pillar w/ 3 autometer gauges, 3" downpipe, minus muffler and cat.
stroker_baldy is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2007, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Points: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can tell you how to do it, but I dont know what resistance the resistor is. Let me know if your still interested.....But I dont know if you want to tamper with putting in the wrong resistor....
surftouch is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2007, 10:44 PM
OBS
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 403
Points: 12,597
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hopfully someone will chime in w/ resistor size. which wire do i tap into?

97 F-250 7.3 psd 4x4: homemade Intake, fpr mod, IDM mod, 18k mod, HX mod, a pillar w/ 3 autometer gauges, 3" downpipe, minus muffler and cat.
stroker_baldy is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-24-2007, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 58
Points: 16,589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A buddy of mine has a early 99. He put the 100k ohm resistor on his map sensor and back pressure sensor and it makes his truck snappy as hell. But i put it on my truck and the things more of a dog than stock and only boosts like 13 psi. I think its a trial and error thing getting the right resistance. But i have a SCT with elite files on my truck now, all i did was unplug the connector to the wastegate controller and my trucks boostin 27 psi all day long.
PowerChoker32 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome