running a auto chip in a standard - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by DUMPIN99, this thread has received 7 replies and been viewed 806 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2008, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
TURBO BOOST
 
DUMPIN99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Points: 7,235
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
running a auto chip in a standard

what will happen if you run an auto burned chip in manuel transmission.will if screw anything up, or will it just not start.

99 F-250 powerstroke. straight piped, 6" tip,k&n intake,6 position TS performace chip(stock, high idle, 50, 75, 100,140)
204,000 miles


:smoke
DUMPIN99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2008, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
DPDIESEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 345
Points: 2,249
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wont start. Slight possibility of hurting the computer.
DPDIESEL is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2008, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
TURBO BOOST
Threadstarter
 
DUMPIN99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Points: 7,235
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks,thats all i needed to know

99 F-250 powerstroke. straight piped, 6" tip,k&n intake,6 position TS performace chip(stock, high idle, 50, 75, 100,140)
204,000 miles


:smoke
DUMPIN99 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2008, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
DPDIESEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 345
Points: 2,249
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No problem.
DPDIESEL is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2008, 08:50 PM
MAFIA MEMBER 106
 
camojeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: red bluff ca
Posts: 2,262
Points: 61,502
Thanks: 108
Thanked 132 Times in 127 Posts
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to camojeeper
whats the pcm code?

STEVE TDG MAFIA#106
99.5 psd SDSC 4x Diesel hot rod tug boat. TN BB turbo,230CC 0.0085"EH nozzles GTS HYBRIDS,Pat's tranny,5",Autometers/Scan gauge, ARP'S, DP tuner f-5 ,MAGIC SMOKE PERFORMANCE INTAKE ,AIH delete,Snows water/meth,map sens blowoff,trans lockup,ITP RR w/FB delete oh ya and a detroit locker now with a TWIN PUMP TERMINATOR OIL system
96 CC DRW south bend,DP,MAGIC SMOKE performance,4" exh,Autometer, TERMINATOR OIL
76 CJ-7 B/B FUEL INJECTED AMC 401cid V-8, T-18, D 20 transfer case with 5.38's in the D44's full family cage,ARB air locker rear, lock right front, 37"goodyears [email protected]

MY PICS http://photobucket.com/magicsmokeperformanceJody of DP-Tuner has Driven my truck
camojeeper is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2008, 12:44 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,154
Points: 51,268
Thanks: 131
Thanked 76 Times in 39 Posts
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUMPIN99
what will happen if you run an auto burned chip in manuel transmission.will if screw anything up, or will it just not start.
It will depend on if the PCM codes don't match where it will start or not. I.E.- A DPC-422 PCM is a federal auto and a DPC-421 is for a manual federal truck. The truck will start if it is for a DPC-422 but the throttle pedal will be very, very sensitive in the manual.


Diane
SeeYa is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-06-2008, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
Points: 2,554
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
see ya, i have a '96 psd and ordered a ts chip from amj perf. i sent it back 3 or4 times cause my truck would never start or ran like **** when i asked them about getting a dptuner they said the first couple of burns on my ts were dptunes, any input? thanks
p.s. it still hasnt worked i put my superchips prog. back in
dumpin96 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-06-2008, 12:45 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,154
Points: 51,268
Thanks: 131
Thanked 76 Times in 39 Posts
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumpin96
see ya, i have a '96 psd and ordered a ts chip from amj perf. i sent it back 3 or4 times cause my truck would never start or ran like **** when i asked them about getting a dptuner they said the first couple of burns on my ts were dptunes, any input? thanks
p.s. it still hasnt worked i put my superchips prog. back in
dumpin96,

Shouldn't be.:shrug: They are not one of our dealers. Thank you for the information. I'll look into this.

Diane
SeeYa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome