DP F5 problems... - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Stinger23, this thread has received 6 replies and been viewed 972 times.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2008, 05:11 AM Thread Starter
Turbo Freak
 
Stinger23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shawnee, Kansas
Posts: 95
Points: 14,913
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
DP F5 problems...

I have a DP-Tuner and F5 mounted on my gauge pod. For the last month or so, it's had a random problem where sometimes when the truck starts up there are no numbers showing and the truck will only idle, try to drive it and it dies. If I wiggle the connector in the back of the F5, it will start working correctly. It also sometimes cuts out/resets going over bumps in the road (numbers will clear, then go in a circle before resetting). It will also sometimes wig out when I try to change from one tune to another and make all the warning lights on the dash come on. Any thoughts?

'00 PowerStroke 7.3 6-Speed CrewCab Short Bed 2WD--Purchased December '07--
Mods : 18x9 Moto Metal 958's w/265-65 Nitto's Terra Grapplers, Boost & Pyro Gauges, 7-Position DP-Tuner, DIY Intake, 4" Magnaflow Exhaust, South Bend Clutch, Sony 12" Sub/Enclosure, Kicker 750w Amp, '02 Headlights, Billet Grill,Tow Mirrors,
Coming Soon:Boost Controller, Leveling Kit, Tint
Stinger23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2008, 06:45 AM
Mafia Member #93
 
blk99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 695
Points: 25,429
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
it is the connector at the gauge....

try putting a piece of tape on it tightly and if that dont work, you may have to talk to Jody about it.... you may need a new switch....

early 99 with some stuff on it
blk99 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-01-2008, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 324
Points: 12,626
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
they replaced mine for the exact thing, early on design was a little flawed or what you can do is slightly bend one or two of the pins to hold the connection better, thats what I did to get me by for the short term but they said that it would be ok.


4cstr- I was just noting what Jody told me

2000 F250 Crew Cab, Short Bed, Oxford White, 305x70x16 BFG A/T K/O, 16x10 Alum. Wheels, XM and other stereo goodies, Autometer Ultralite Guages (TRANS, PYRO, BOOST) 3.73's, Dp-Tuner F5 w/ 60tow, 80tow, 80econo, 100, 120, 140 :Thumbup: , AFE Stage II, 4" SS Sraight Pipe, B & W Turnover and Tow n Stow receiver hitch, 08' Tailgate (thanx to Blowin' Smoke) rhino-liner, 05' Grille, newer drink holder, Kobalt full width chest, boost fooler
SOLD 07/08

1989 Dodge W250 Regular Cab (purchased from original owner 10/31/09)
AT, A/C
120,00 miles
needs some goodies
HIGH MILEAGE ELITE is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-02-2008, 03:53 AM Thread Starter
Turbo Freak
Threadstarter
 
Stinger23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shawnee, Kansas
Posts: 95
Points: 14,913
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hmm, thanks for the info guys. I guess I'll call them and see what they say.

I see "SeeYa" read this thread but didn't respond?
Stinger23 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-02-2008, 01:44 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,154
Points: 50,524
Thanks: 131
Thanked 76 Times in 39 Posts
Images: 1
Yes I did read it. I was also getting ready to go the doctor so I didn't have time to respond.

We can send another one to see if it elimates the issue. However if it is coming off the cable is pulled too tightly and needs some slack behind switch. This will prevent any tug on the back. I have had mine installed since last October and it has never cut out on me.


Diane
SeeYa is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-02-2008, 01:57 PM
4cstr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Points: 0 [Check]
I am sure that whatever the problem is...it will be taken care of. I have one of the early units...installed October of '06...and have never had a problem.
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-02-2008, 07:50 PM Thread Starter
Turbo Freak
Threadstarter
 
Stinger23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shawnee, Kansas
Posts: 95
Points: 14,913
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks, I'll check the slack on the cable and see if that's a problem.

I know I can just touch the cable connector lightly and it will cut the truck off momentarily.
Stinger23 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome