Superchips 1705 question - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Catch-All, this thread has received 15 replies and been viewed 15889 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-04-2009, 05:27 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Superchips 1705 question

Hi. I'm new to the forum and was hoping I could get some advice from the experts on here. I am not a diesel expert in any way, shape or form. I didn't even sleep at a Holiday Inn last night. Now if you want to ask questions about saltwater fishing I can probably help you.

Here's my deal. I bought a used 2000 F-250 Lariat 7.3 crewcab, non-dually 2WD, automatic. It had 140k miles on it. I took it to a good auto shop that specializes in diesels and had them check everything for needed maintenance & repairs. Other than the 150K service items, ball joints and new brake pads all around were the only things needed.

I'd been hearing for years that the 7.3 L was the way to go as it had the best fuel economy among diesels, yada yada. I wasn't looking for tire-screeching acceleration, wasn't looking to make smoke like a WWII navy destroyer, etc - I just wanted fuel economy in a full-sized pickup. I always track my mileage at every fill-up. Wow, was I surprised when I realized I was only getting 11mpg city and 14mpg hiway! WTF?!?

So I installed the Air Raid air filter kit and started using Chemsearch Diesel Guard fuel additive. I noticed maybe 1mpg improvement. The truck already has the big pipe exhaust.