What is the best setup for the new LBZ, Towing Chip/exhaust - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by XR680R, this thread has received 16 replies and been viewed 11083 times.

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 05:34 PM Thread Starter

What is the best setup for the new LBZ, Towing Chip/exhaust

I am new to the Diesel thing and would like to get up to speed as fast as possible.

I am getting a 2006 Duramax LBZ GMC and would like to change the exhaust right away. I will be towing a Toy Box of about 8,000 pounds (Not much for a diesel) and would like to know; what are the good and bad of 4" vrs 5" exhaust? Is there a down side to having 5" from Turbo back? I see most have 4" down tubes is there a reason that someone wouldn't want to have bigger down tube. I setup Baja Race Bikes and going to big on the exhaust you loose your low end but, gain power in the higher rpm's. Does this hold true with diesels?

I will want the best power programer to adjust the speedo and increese power/fuel milage. I have a 2004 lifted silverodo with a 5.3l, JBA headers, Mac 4" exhaust, cold air induction, and the diablo preditor tuner but, It is not the same as diesel so I need to get the best info it get this right the first time.

I went with the Duramax because my friend got a 2005 Chevy Duramax and it is a nice truck.

http://xr650r.borynack.com/

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 06:21 PM

gotta have a cat, it will through a low egr code if you pipe it, unless you wanna get a blocker plate and a fingers stick. You dont need a intake the stocker is very sufficient and i use the PPE Xcellerator and like it alot.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 06:31 PM

XR680R,