New to Diesels - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by deuce, this thread has received 7 replies and been viewed 875 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-30-2007, 07:31 AM Thread Starter

New to Diesels

But not new to performance. First off, I would like to say that I am new to this whole forum type of arrangement. I just bought an 05 LLY/Allison. After the grueling drive from dallas to Phoenix, I decided that I want to add intake/exhaust( texas stock) and perhaps down the line some sort of computer tuning. I guess waht I am wanting to know is some opinions on the best combination for the 2. I will not be towing any loads or anything like that, I just wanted a diesel since my work requires that I travel a bunch. Any ideas would be cool. THanks-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-01-2007, 01:39 AM

Intake isnt really needed. In most applications, the stocker is more that sufficient. Some say an intake helps keep EGTs down, but my opinion is the filtering capabilities outweigh that.

Exhaust? Silverline, MBRP, Magnaflow are all good examples. A good 4 inch exhaust helps lower EGTs and help the turbo spool up quicker.

Tuner/chip? It all depends on what you want to do. Since you want better mileage along with power (as you use it for commuting) I've found from 4 years of reading that the downloader-style tuners can usually give better mileage than the harness-box types. You can go with Predator (excellent mileage tune), Quad, or PPE (what I plan on using). Harness boxes include Edge (which I am currently running) and Vanaaken.

Keep in mind when running more power that you want to keep it under +100HP. The stock Allison wont like it too much if you continuously run more than that.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-01-2007, 03:28 AM
TDG Junior Mafia #61