Advice - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by donaldveto, this thread has received 3 replies and been viewed 1066 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-10-2010, 06:56 PM Thread Starter

Advice

I am looking to buy a 4x4 van. I can't afford a nice newer one. My buddy has a late 80's Ford 4x4 with a diesel engine. (haven't asked what size yet.) Here's the deal with the rig:
The engine seized about 3-4 years ago. Since then it has been sitting in his yard. Before it blew, he had the transmission redone. It has nice racks, bumper, lift etc. He wants $2000 for it.
I am a fairly rookie mechanic and have zero experience with diesel. But I am a pretty quick learner and like to dive into new things.
So my questions are:
What will it take to get this girl going?
What will I need to do to the transmission after sitting so long?
Can I rebuild a seized engine or do I have to replace?
What should I replace it with?
Can I try to do it myself? Or would that be crazy?
Any advice would really help. What would you do?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-11-2010, 12:35 AM
Super Moderator

Good used engines are available, but getting difficult to find because of age. You cannot rebuild or even fix a siezed engine for what a reman one with a warranty costs from a name brand supplier. Generally, OEM Ford reman engines are pretty good and cost competative.

'93 F-250 HD, 7.3L IDI, 5spd - FARM TRUCK
I Support: Trailer brakes an every axle over the towing vehicle's GVW; CDLs for RVers; Safety inspections for ALL vehicles and 6 axle trucks (97K GVW proposal).

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote - Benjamin Franklin

I vote for LIBERTY!
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-11-2010, 02:11 AM
TDG MAFIA

Garage