Transmission chip???? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by Dieselpwrdredneck, this thread has received 23 replies and been viewed 1522 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 03:21 AM Thread Starter

Question Transmission chip????

Hello all this is my first time posting here, i hope i did it right:shrug:
I am asking this question for my friend.
Are there any options for a '97 PSD with an auto? I was thinkin maybe a Transcommand but not sure?
What all does a tranny chip do, and what does it help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 04:05 AM

well for the cost of a trans command or i believe bullydog also makes something similar, he could have a custom chip that gives him extra power and makes the tranny do exactly what he wants (tc lockup, shift pts, line pressure).

Luke
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 02:42 PM
BJS

In all honest you're better off installing a good shiftkit to help the tranny rather than doing it electronically. I'd suggest a trangso tugger kit or a factory tech valve body to help the tranny shift better.

A good programmer can do the same thing with the engine chip that you're going to accomplish w/ a trans module. The ECM controls both engine & trans.

95 F350 Centurion Conversion Bronco (Crew Cab SRW) 4X4 4.10, Isspro Performax Boost, Pyro, & trans temp on the A-pillar, BDP Stage 1 injectors, Open air intake, Dpp Downpipe, Self built E4OD with parts from Racer-X, Tony Wildman Chip, Early '99 Intercooler.

Destin FL Vacation Houses 1 block from the beach
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 03:08 PM
4cstr

Yep...gotta agree with Brandon here. Your tranny will appreciate you much better if you mechanically up the pressure. The factory tech valve body is a great addition. Check with Jeremy at Long Island Performance Diesel. He can get them.