Can someone post front suspension pictures from a 2005 or later? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by bakantor, this thread has received 2 replies and been viewed 692 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-21-2010, 05:24 AM Thread Starter

Can someone post front suspension pictures from a 2005 or later?

Hi all -

Back three years ago I started playing with my front suspension. I put in some airbags, slowly cut back one of the leafs, relocated the shocks, etc. The ride is softer/smoother but as suspected I have more axle role under hard braking conditions. The goal was to be able to lower the truck a few inches which was a success... but now I need to decide where to go with it.

I'm not convinced airbags are the ideal main suspension item for a daily driver. There are too many little quirks (one thing they do very well is to keep the truck flat through the corners). So, it's time to either put the original design back in place (which will require purchasing new leaf packs), finish the air bag setup (which doesn't seem practical for the long term) or try a conversion to the 2005+ coil spring configuration. If I do the coil conversion I will be doing it without swapping axles (thus fabrication work will be necessary).

Long story short, I was hoping someone would be gracious enough to post or point me to pictures of a 2005+ stock front suspension (tire off preferred). I need to see the spring buckets, shock mount, spring to axle mount, support beam from axle to truck frame, and a front shot of the left and right wheel area to understand how the steering, etc have changed. Moreover, if someone would be willing to take a measurement from the axle edge along the support beam to the frame mount bolt I would be greatful. I need to see if the stock leaf spring mount point is of any use.