Looking to buy/ What to look for ? - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by parsons913, this thread has received 6 replies and been viewed 852 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2008, 12:48 AM Thread Starter

Looking to buy/ What to look for ?

I'm going to look at a 2006 GMC 3500 4x4 Dually this weekend. I need to know what to look for. I'm confused about what motor is in it (LBZ,LLY,?). I'm new to the Duramax scene so any help would be nice. All I know about it as of now is it has 148K on it. Should I be worried about the trans ? If I do end up with it what are the mods ya'll recommend ( exhaust, intake, programmer,etc..) I will do it in stages as money permits. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2008, 01:49 AM
resident mason

06 is the lbz. 150K miles I'd check all the fluids for color/smell. Are there any service records? Are they hiway miles? Take it to a competant mechanic if in doubt. As for mods a small chip, exaust, and intake are good, but don't get to rough with 150k on tranny as it may have 50K miles left in it or maybe only 1. Also check body panels and general condition.

06 Sierra 2500 4wd lb. Predator, S&B, MBRP duals-no cat, Quadzilla gauges, Allison Jr., Riderite air bags, PPE Tie rod sleeves, egr plate / finger stick. 02 Chevy 3500 8.1L 4wd dump 9' Fisher mm2, sander. 03 Kubota L4630. 80'S or 90's Komatsu pc50. 89 d250 5.9 which may someday go into something.:
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2008, 11:00 AM

Look at the 8th digit on the VIN. The 06 LLY will be a "2". The LBZ will be a "D".

They are the same engines, just different programming. The early LLY/LBZs had an issue with the glow plug controller. Otherwise, that version of the Dmax has been pretty good, with no other big issues.

I'd take the VIN to a GM dealer and ask them to run a Service history on it. That will give you an idea of whats been done to it.