Good info on Bio.... - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by sredish, this thread has received 7 replies and been viewed 979 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
Texas XC Quad Racer

Good info on Bio....

Here is a post some of you may or may not have read on the TDR web site written by Doug Memeing, an engineer at Cummins. Thought it'd be worth discussing.

Quote:
Date: Saturday, July 16, 2005 9:40 pm
Subject: [Biofuel] Re: CUMMINS B5.9TD

Perhaps I can shed some light on this topic, as I am an engineer at Cummins Inc, and work in Fuel System Development.

Officially, Cummins supports Biodiesel blends up to B5 or 5% Biodiesel. There are several concerns the company has with higher ratio blends. There are three major areas of concerns that the company has. These are mostly commercial concerns which will be evident as I explain them any of which an individual could deal with by being aware and careful about what they put into their tank.

First, while biodiesel is touted as being cleaner, there are some caveats. While the particulate emissions (the ones you can see) are considerably improved with biodiesel, the NOx emmission will increase and the higher the biodiesel ratio the higher the NOx increases. Up to B5 the increase will not likely move the engine's NOx emissions beyond the federal limit, but B20 and higher will likely move the NOx emissions "outside of the box". Since the US tends to hold the manufacturers repsonsible for the emissions of the engines, instead of the users, the company must maintain a strict policy against recommending or accepting fuels that will violate the regulations.