dt466 (older model) tuneup questions - Diesel Truck Forum - TheDieselGarage.com
Thread Details Posted by zag, this thread has received 3 replies and been viewed 4010 times.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 04:17 AM Thread Starter
zag

dt466 (older model) tuneup questions

I'm getting ready to do some traveling in my 1977 skoolie bus. It has a DT466 and I want to tune it up good before I go. It doesn't seem to have quite the power it used to. Please forgive me any stupid questions - I am still a bit new to diesel engines. I knew I wanted an International when I got the bus, and only later found out what a great find it was! On to my questions:

1. I believe it should have a valve adjustment. I got the service manual off of ebay and the procedure looks simple, but is there anything special I need to know?

2. It has the rotary injection pump, and it seems to be leaking fuel from where one or two of the injector lines goes into the pump - there is fuel sprayed everywhere around there but I cleaned it off good and that's where it seems to be coming from. I can't get a wrench in there very easily. Is there a special tool I need? Would it likely help to remove and reinstall the injector lines? Do I need new seals of some kind? Anything else I need to know there?

3. Can I test the injectors myself, or would it be cheaper to have it done? It blows a bit of gray smoke so I'm afraid they're dirty. Is there a simple way to clean them?

4. I think the only other thing it needs is a new secondary fuel filter (just replaced the primary on the road last weekend); is there anything else I should check/adjust/replace?

Thanks in advance for any info and advice. I have learned quite a bit of useful information from these forums already - this site is great!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 06:45 PM