The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone - got a question. I'm new to diesels, but have done a bit of research and asking around. I'm looking for a daily driver (15 miles/day to and from work) and a horse/hay (2-5 tons) hauling rig for summer time, all in one vehicle. I've been looking at '01-'03 SuperDutys, after reading that 6.0's have expensive issues, and the but haven't found one yet that's nice enough inside for daily use, and is in the condition I want, for under 17K.

I've found a 2006 LBZ Duramax, and want to know what I should be looking out for, mainly in the engine/transmission. This rig is 4 hours away, and it's listed ($12,400) at 8k below average kbb/nada values, yet still sounds and looks like a good deal:

2006 2500 Duramax LS 6.6L
LBZ w/ 6-sp Allison (a given, I think)
current owner: 2 years, all hwy miles, garaged
168k miles (I know - high miles - but still fairly young for a diesel?)
CC LB
Leather seats (heated?), cd/bose
Manual locks/windows (OK with me)
Oil changes every 5k
No repairs except trans.fluid change
Towing: 3000-5000 lbs. - occasionally
VIN/carfax soon to come
Never wrecked, clean title
All stock, according to seller
24 mpg hwy/16 city (is this realistic?)

pics/listing: http://anchorage.craigslist.org/cto/2665768345.html

I'll be asking for more pics (engine, underneath, cab, etc.) and can post them as well. If this is as nice as it sounds, I'd like to keep it for a long time, but it could also be a good resell, though it's been online for 6 weeks now.

Is the 6-sp Allison/LBZ a bulletproof combination? As good as the 7.3? I know the HP/torque can't compare (350/650 vs. 250/525 '03), but is one more reliable than the other? I'm not brand-loyal (yet!) - just want a quality truck that, besides proper maintenance and care, needs minimal upkeep, and has no major issues.