The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have ran by an issue that needs the expert advice from the members of this forum. A friend has a 3306B and it is mixing the engine oil into the fuel tanks and engine is missing bad what can cause this issue. I have seen fuel in oil and in coolant before but not oil in fuel. Thanks to all for your advice it will be highly appreciated.

·
990 Posts
"Check o-rings, injectors and cups" sees to be the consensus.

1LEZ28 had this to say a while back:

"I was a mechanic at a CAT engine dealer for years. Is there fuel in the oil? Usually you get fuel in oil, and oil in fuel at the same time. If there is fuel in the oil also then I would put some dye in the fuel and run the engine(at operating temp) with the valve cover off. Use caution, and use a blacklight to verify any leaks from injector areas. Does the truck smoke white, blue, or any more issues?"

Other comments, same thread on a similar problem with a CAT 3126 are here:

http://www.thedieselgarage.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58763

Please post when you figure it out. Thank you.

·
2,555 Posts
Since the 3306B is a mechanical inj the problem would have to be lift pump, or main pump related. maybe the lube return on the main pump got plugged. just the places that I would start to look

·
1,138 Posts
I have work the 3306 for years and never saw oil in fuel.So i would say go back and look at it some more and see if its not just black fuel. Black fuel can come from a nozzle open. Some here is going to say it will not happen but i have see it a few times. The valve in the nozzle is stuck open due to what ever and the compression goes back thru the injector line into the injection pump back to the tank and yes it will miss.The injectors on this engine is out side of the head with no o/rings.

·
298 Posts