The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the diesel community, but am rapidly learning two things;

When they run...they run great!

When they break down...be prepared to spend a lot (especially with the 6.0).

I recently bought a used 03 F250, and had a diesel mechanic go with me to ensure that the engine was sound, before I bought it. He told me that the 6.0 was prone to all kinds of issues, but that the one under the hood looked to have been well maintained. It was bullet-proofed, and had a lot of Sinister Diesel upgrades done to it. It ran like a dream (I say that in the past tense). A month ago...I drove it home from work, and when I tried to start it an hour later...it would crank, but not start. I had to have it towed to a local shop that specializes in diesel repair, and after a week, they diagnosed it as a "worst case scenario."

My HPOP blew apart, and sent metal fragments through my injectors and into the Low Pressure Pump and Oil Cooler...all of which needs to be replaced. The shop quoted me around $6000 plus the diagnostic cost (so roughly $6700). My question is this...once fixed...how long before this type of thing could happen again? I love the truck...performs great (when it runs)...so I don't want to get rid of it.

·
1,216 Posts
Do you have any gauges or a scan tool that you used to watch engine parameters like coolant and oil temperatures before it broke down? It could very well be that the oil cooler was plugged to begin with. A great number of used 6.0's seem to already have plugged up oil coolers (Ford Gold coolant is that bad). That is the first thing I look for when looking at used 6.0's. Did the mechanic that went with you on the initial search have a scan tool when you both were evaluating this truck?

How do they know the low pressure oil pump was impacted?

Does that $6000 include all new (OEM from a dealership) injectors?

As far as parts go: