Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,342 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to be touchy.

Well yesterday I recieved my egr cooler delete by liberty diesel performance. Yes the one that is $595. I bought for the simple reason to find out why its pricey. I am a manufacturing Engineer and took it to work to have it quoted. I could have it made for $35 dollars by a multiple number of suppliers. I bought it for several reasons. I made one for myself before I bought this one but I wanted to see what this was about.

then I look at turbos. I know some people are charging anywhere from $1900 to $2800 for a rebuilt turbo with upgrades. Yes I bought one of those as well to see the performance of it and do some research. I know that these turbos have about $900 worth of parts and machining. I know the part numbers that were used to make this turbo or one like it. And no I wont list them. Is this worth it. I know if I bought a rebuilt battery, It would be a fraction of the cost of a new one. Remember, There is also a core charge...Why? I know when I buy say a new Turbonetics or a Garret there is no core..

Then comes injectors. Why are some less than $2000 and some companys charge anywhere from $2500 to over $3000 grand for basically a rebuilt product with some machining enhancements. If you take away the machining which takes setup and machine time, and the parts where is all the money for. I know there are some guys whoes prices are lower and when innovation starts being avaible to others than prices usually go down.

Why do we pay this. why because we let them. There are alot more things are there that are overpriced on a 6.0l and hopefully we can list them.

·
TDG Mafia Member#67
5,655 Posts
fuel systems, pretty much all of the pre made "delete" kits (egr cooler, valve, up pipe, etc.), ....?:sofa