The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, im new to diesels. Im choosing between a ford 7.3 and a dodge cummins..i have a hard time bringing myself to buying a dodge because i really like fords, but the gas milage that they get is amazing. my friend has a 2003 cummins 2500 with a chip and intake and exhaust and with his chip turned all the way up he gets around 27mpg on the highway.

if i am to get a 7.3 stock either 2wd or 4wd what milage should i expect?

if i am to get a 7.3 and modify it (i.e. chip, intake, turbo back exhaust [either stacks or just out the rear], new turbo impeller...and probably a torque converter and a valve body just to help the tranny out) anyone with close to these specs?

·
6,337 Posts
Your buddy is full of it... I do believe the cummins will get better milage then the PSD when build right, but the only way he is getting 27mpg is if he is up on a flatbed getting towed...

Stock 7.3 will get you about 13-18mpg... Moded with chip and stuff, 13-20 maybe...

·
Dieselis' Maximus
1,744 Posts
Yah 27 HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA RIGHT.....

·
Slow 6.0
1,554 Posts
CSIPSD said:
Your buddy is full of it... I do believe the cummins will get better milage then the PSD when build right, but the only way he is getting 27mpg is if he is up on a flatbed getting towed...

Stock 7.3 will get you about 13-18mpg... Moded with chip and stuff, 13-20 maybe...
on the back of a FORD wrecker right? LOL

·
2,509 Posts
my brother has a stock 2wd psd with a 6 speed getting almost 21mpg

·
Dieselis' Maximus
1,744 Posts
I wont know my Milage till i get back. But last year i was making around 16-18 city and 18-20 highway. only once on a trip back from Georgia i made 24 hand calculated.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what do you have done to your truck? i was planning on getting a good chip...either edge or flashpack or banks 6 shooter? any suggestions? i need somewhere around high teens low 20s will be great!