The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey just wounden wat some of the setups that people have tried are and how they worked


I had an edge j/a with hot unlock and liked it more than the setup now

how bout u
 

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts
Edge Comp (and a few other Bomb's check sig)

My Dyno sheet...
http://mopar.mopar1973man.com/2002 Dodge/dyno sheet.pdf

I'm happy with it. But I wish Edge comp would fix there software. There is a software bug with levels 4 and 5 if anyone didn't know... But as you can see I've figured out the answer to it on Dyno Day...:sly:
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
232 Posts
im guessin first run stock and second 2 with comp and nothing else????
 

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
232 Posts
but that is all you have the comp??? drag upgrade??? you got auto or manual? stock turbo and injectors??? im just curious about what hp im at
 

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts
masonjo said:
but that is all you have the comp??? drag upgrade??? you got auto or manual? stock turbo and injectors??? im just curious about what hp im at
It's just a Edge Comp, 5 Speed, Stock HX35 Turbo, And Stock Injectors...

Here is my Page on it...
http://mopar.mopar1973man.com/2002%20Dodge/2002%20CTD.htm

BOMB Listing...
http://mopar.mopar1973man.com/2002%20Dodge/BOMBS/bomb's.htm

Plus I was running 105:1 Ratio of 2 cycle oil...
http://mopar.mopar1973man.com/2002%20Dodge/Tips%20&%20Tricks/2%20cycle%20oil/2_cycle_oil.htm

Prue and simple... That's what I was running during the dyno run...
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
3,514 Posts
What type of dyno were you on? That just sounds a little high to me for a truck with only exhaust, intake and a Comp box. Maybe the dyno's I'm used to run lower, but I saw a truck with a stock charger, comp box and some supposedly 150hp injectors only put down 379, but I know that dyno runs a bit low but I wouldn't think that low.

Whats this bug you're talking about? Haven't heard of that, and whats the answer? Maybe thats the difference.
Sean
 

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts
sstockton said:
What type of dyno were you on? That just sounds a little high to me for a truck with only exhaust, intake and a Comp box. Maybe the dyno's I'm used to run lower, but I saw a truck with a stock charger, comp box and some supposedly 150hp injectors only put down 379, but I know that dyno runs a bit low but I wouldn't think that low.

Whats this bug you're talking about? Haven't heard of that, and whats the answer? Maybe thats the difference.
Sean
Here is the web page of the guys I ran with...
http://www.idahobombersforum.com/events/05-19-07/index.htm

Meridian Motorsports, Merdian, ID - Dynojet...

If you set your level 4 to a sub level or 1 (4x1) then switch to 5 and set for sublevel of 5 (5x5). You'll find that there is no power or smoke. But if you match both level 4 (4x5) and level 5 (5x5) then the power is greater. To ensure all power is given set all sub levels to 5 (1x5, 2x5, 3x5, 4x5, and 5x5) then you get it all... Any sublevels that are reduced will reduce the total power... Basically level 4's sub level can effect level 5 power...

As for verifying my HP number I get my ScanGauge on my dash with a HP calculator built in. I need to re-run it now that the roads are dry and get a pic. My last run when I had a friend along I pulled 365 HP easy... But here is my last run on the highway. I got to 302 and still climbing but it broke loose and scared me as I shoot the pic... The roads were just sprayed with de-icer... :damnit



Pyro Near 1,200*F

Coolant Temp 195*F
IAT Sensor 85*F
2.8 MPG
302 HorsePower Rating...
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
3,514 Posts
Interesting, I will have to try that, because I always have 4x1 on so I can have higher timing without the fueling. and still have 5x5 available. What are the max temps (EGT) you see with just the box and no injectors. Well, I hope your numbers are right, cause with the drag comp, little sticks and twins that should put me in the low to mid 400's range. I'm gonna need more fuel.
Sean
 

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts
Not totally true... Timing doesn't fully start till you leave the defuel mode... So you got to be 20 PSI of boost before timing kicks in completely for sublevel 1. So I'm running 4x4 on mine to get full timing all the time... Because I cruise at speeds that give about 5 PSI (~60 MPH). So I would be in the defuel mode and minimal timing is present. I tend to control the fuel with my right foot (or cruise control).

The timing I verified with the ScanGauge II as well. Lets say I set my cruise for 55 MPH. I'm running 2-3 PSI of boost. Now with level 4 I can change sublevels 1,2,3 no change in MPG's at all. Sublevel 4 I gain 2-3 MPG instantly also a noted jump in power. Sublevel 5 is the same for MPG and the power remains constant. So this shows the jump from timing being added. Now if I reverse this the MPG fail back down and there is a slump in power.

My MAX EGT is right around 1350-1400*F pre-turbo. Running about 32-35 PSI of boost. Stock injectors and stock turbo. Yeah... A larger turbo would be nice. :evil:
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
232 Posts
what kind of scanner is that where you get it???
 

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts

·
2nd Gen Guru
Joined
·
2,641 Posts

·
Member
Joined
·
53 Posts
I run an Edge Comp and DD stage 3 nozzles. No complaints here, except from the clutch. A buddy of mine has the Quadzilla Adrenaline/Smarty stack, and I would say it is comparable in stock trim, but they have like 50 files for that box, and the Comp is not updatable. Another buddy has a TST/Smarty stack with Mach 4's, and a Phat Shaft turbo. Holy crap! Let me tell you, that truck is scary!!!!!
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top