The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i am relatively new to diesel. I've been playing with mud trucks for years and decided to start pullin. I hear the good and bad things about all the cummin's and powerstrokes. Yet when it comes to chevy diesel, i can't find anyone to say a good word about them all that way until duramax. So i ask, why no love for the 6.2 an 6.5? If anyone can help me out with why they are "junk" that would be awesome.

·
Super Moderator
4,247 Posts
They are the lightest duty diesels offered in a pickup.

Neither is abuse tolerant, this means that virtually ANY abuse from skipping an oil change to mile overheating will shorten their life.

They are essentially the same engine with different displacements, that's an over simplification, but reasonabally accurate. They are light and return good mileage when spec'd correctly, but underpowered and short-lived if spec'd wrong or over worked. Not what you expect from a diesel, sorta reminds me of the Olds 350D :(

·
Super Moderator
3,190 Posts
They are mostly popular for folks with a full size rig that are looking for better mpg than a V8 gasser. Think of it as a "Basic Transportation" engine.

·
125 Posts
they are just cheaply made. poor casting on blocks and heads, the harmonic balancers fail causing them to break cracks. I personally wouldnt take one out my drive way. (there not that bad but you get the point)

·
85 Posts
The later 6.5's aren't that bad...afterall they were used in the military HMMWV's. A little under powered (of course I was driving a 10k pound armored truck through the mountains). It's not a racing motor by anymeans.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well then, looks like i won't be buying me a chevy diesel anytime soon. Thanks for all the info. If anyone has any nifty tech stuff that would prove helpful to my new diesel tinkering self. Let me know, it will be much appreciated!!

·
590 Posts