The Diesel Garage banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at putting a new set of 7" or 8" straights on my truck. I have found a company that makes systems out of 304 stainless steel, and they're actually cheaper than Lincoln Chrome or Dynaflex chrome exhausts.

Would there be any disadvantages to having an all stainless exhaust system? I would think it would be all around better than chrome but I'm no expert. Any input or advice is appreciated.

·
515 Posts
Stainless is somewhat heavier in the brighter grades. Not alot,less than 10%, but it always seems heavier than that to me in exhaust components.

·
2,824 Posts
Is the stainless polished?

·
O'Skool Member
579 Posts
7-8"! That ain't exhaust, that's a reverb chamber. Hope you don't idle at the truckstops or you'll be making enemies.

But I'd take SS over Chrome any day for the same money.

·
3,533 Posts
We had an owner that bought stainless stacks and the drivers complained they rattled. He had 6 trucks and about ten drivers three quit before he changed back to chromed pipes, and he bought silent partner mufflers, on all his trucks.

·
2,824 Posts
7-8"! That ain't exhaust, that's a reverb chamber. Hope you don't idle at the truckstops or you'll be making enemies.

My 7" is quiet at an idle, but it's just on a big cam.

·
2,824 Posts
Name of the company?

·
502 Posts

No worse than an APU running with a muffler on and still are louder than most trucks.

We had an owner that bought stainless stacks and the drivers complained they rattled. He had 6 trucks and about ten drivers three quit before he changed back to chromed pipes, and he bought silent partner mufflers, on all his trucks.
Why would they rattle more...?

·
515 Posts
Why would they rattle more...?[/QUOTE]